Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-26-2013, 01:09 PM
mccoyrare@yahoo.com mccoyrare@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 89
Default Re: Do you have to have a 7200 rpm hard drive to run Pro Tools 10?

What type of computer do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-26-2013, 01:19 PM
mccoyrare@yahoo.com mccoyrare@yahoo.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 89
Default Re: Do you have to have a 7200 rpm hard drive to run Pro Tools 10?

What kind of external drive would you recommend? I'm gonna have to plug it into my USB 3.0
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-20-2017, 05:02 AM
makinworks makinworks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Default Re: Do you have to have a 7200 rpm hard drive to run Pro Tools 10?

Hello I noticed someone said it was ok to have Mac OS or SYSTEM DRIVE running on 5400RPM?

I just bought this used laptop as a replacement for mine that crashed.

But I still have the 7200 HD I just already installed Yosemite and other apps before realizing there might be a problem.

I always use an external drive for audio eSATA TEMPO SATA PRO EXPRESSCARD/34

connected to my GRAID and LACIE external Hard Drives which are running at 7200

I have not tested ProTools (nor installed it yet...) because I wanted to get advice before I did.

Please can a MODERATOR or someone with real experience using a MacBook Pro old as mine tell me if I am ok? AS I can't see it on the ProTools Avid Specs, there is nothing about INTERNAL HD SPEED listed.

I would just INSTALL my old (7200 HD ) that I replaced. But as I said I have already spent hours installing so far.

So I look forward to any advice.

This will mainly be used for tracking with the MBoxMini and some plug ins via ILOK2

so that is why I am wondering....
thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-20-2017, 12:28 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 9,665
Default Re: Do you have to have a 7200 rpm hard drive to run Pro Tools 10?

First iff we cant advice on your Laptop as you dont say what model or anything.

Internao drive need to be 7200rpm or better and preferably a SSD and one external 7200 rpm or better as recording drive.

This thread is 4 years old so nothing posted in here is new info at all.

And Avid says a minimum 7200rpm as OS drive and the same for recording to.

USB3 case only and SSD would be much better and thunderbolt case.

PS. There are MANY members who are not moderators with huge knowledge and competens so anyone who can help here on this forum knows what is needed and what works
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this 7200 rpm external hard drive ReynaldoPena Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 11-20-2012 08:54 AM
2.5" 7200 hard drive ThaRhythm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-07-2010 11:54 AM
7200 rpm vs 10000 rpm hard drive akewldewd Storage Subsystems 2 09-26-2010 08:55 AM
FW Hard Drive Help? 7200 Fantom drive not working 72reissue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-10-2005 02:28 PM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-20-2002 12:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com