Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2013, 04:45 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,036
Default So how do I get my external Mic pre into Mbox 2

Sorry for the newbie questions, but something isn't adding up here.

I've used the mic pres in the Mbox 2 before, but they aren't great.

So I have my external Focusrite mix pre I use to use with much success recording into Nuendo via my Tango 24 over ADAT.

I get plenty of signal on the mic pre.

I've gone out both XLR and XLR to TRS with no success on the mbox over DI.

I've clocked the Mbox internally as well as through my Lucid GENx192.

When I put the DI button on, I get no signal. I turn the gain on the Mbox up and all I get is noise, on both channels.
Just noise, not me clapping my hands and noise, just a buzz.

The cables that are XLR and XLR to TRS are different cables.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2013, 07:28 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: So how do I get my external Mic pre into Mbox 2

I've never owned an MBox, but you need to use a Line In, not DI. DI is for instrument inputs like guitars or keyboards. The output of your other pre is at line level, so you need to use a Line In on your MBox 2.
__________________
Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Sierra Version 10.12
Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 3 (not pro) w/external pre joeontheradio FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 2 04-25-2013 12:33 PM
External mic pre w/mbox 3 desol 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-03-2012 08:22 AM
External ADC set up with Mbox Pro 3 steals 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-22-2011 02:17 PM
using external pre amp on mbox 2 advision205 Tips & Tricks 2 01-06-2011 10:11 PM
External Pre to Mbox ? Shan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-12-2005 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com