Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2011, 11:53 PM
cozy_man cozy_man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Default legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

Hello,
I have an old card "disk I/O PCI".
Do you think I can use for "legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program" ?
http://www.avid.com/en/specialoffers/PT-Native-Exchange

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2011, 04:01 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 633
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

I have the same question. Can I use my old PCI D24 card?

http://www.vintageking.com/Avid-Lega...ative-Exchange
__________________
mix engineer
http://mixwithjm.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2011, 05:13 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,185
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
I have the same question. Can I use my old PCI D24 card?

http://www.vintageking.com/Avid-Lega...ative-Exchange

Id it's registered to you and you owned it prior to Oct 20th..... then YES!!! == Don't know about Disc I/O one
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD, MC Mix+Control
Logic ProX, Studio One V3, PT12.8 Orion Studio 2017, Zen Tour, Dangerous Source
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2011, 07:44 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,755
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

There is no Oct. 20th deadline, or any other deadline for this special. This has been going on since the beginning of the year, completely separate from the events of the last week. It officially ended in July, but most dealers and Avid are still honoring it.

The only difference is that from now on, you will get the free upgrade to HD 10. Even though it's a tradeup, when you register the package it's the same as if you bought a new one.

As for whether you can trade in the very old cards, you will need to ask your dealer. From what I understand, Avid's pretty relaxed on this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2011, 09:02 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 633
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

I've got two old core systems. D24 and Mix. I'll let you know if I'm successful with this.
__________________
mix engineer
http://mixwithjm.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2011, 12:10 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 633
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Id it's registered to you and you owned it prior to Oct 20th..... then YES!!! == Don't know about Disc I/O one
There is no info about this deadline anywhere, can you tell where do you know this from?
__________________
mix engineer
http://mixwithjm.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2011, 12:37 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,185
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

Quote:
Originally Posted by milaszewski View Post
There is no info about this deadline anywhere, can you tell where do you know this from?
The deadline was in an email from a well known dealer........
That said he might be wrong

The trade in is well spelled out here for included hardware.........
http://www.vintageking.com/Avid-Lega...ative-Exchange
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD, MC Mix+Control
Logic ProX, Studio One V3, PT12.8 Orion Studio 2017, Zen Tour, Dangerous Source
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2011, 01:33 AM
Druphus Druphus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London,UK
Posts: 34
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

So looking at the vintage king link there is no mention of the current PCIe HD cards being a qualifying product for the HD Native exchange.

This seems a little harsh in my opinion as there is no way I'm paying £5-6K to upgrade my HD2 Accel to HDX when I don't need that much processing power for my projects.

Anyone shed any light on this?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-28-2011, 07:22 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,755
Default Re: legacy PCI-based Pro Tools system to Pro Tools|HD Native card program

You can now trade in your PCIe card, as it's now considered a legacy system. Some dealers have already done this, you may want to check with yours.


To other question, I know the Mix cards work, because that's what I did. You'll have to check with your dealer about anything older, but I'm thinking that it's okay also.


For anyone who's doing the HD Native trade-in, only your core card is needed. Any other cards you can sell on ebay, etc. No need to give more than you have to. The exchange is from a core card to the HD Native card.


Also, not everyone knows that there is also a hardware interface exchange, separate from this, that's been going on since September. You trade in a legacy interface (I think even the old 888's will work, or the blue ones, etc.) and get $1000 off of any of the new HD interfaces. With the HD IO 8x8 or 16x16, you also get a free copy of HEAT. This will be useless in HD Native, but you could sell the brand new package to someone with a TDM system, offsetting your costs a little.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native Card not recognized by Pro Tools dj_grimmace Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 17 09-20-2013 06:53 AM
Venue + mix rack + hdx card + pro tools hd native card ? hart07 VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 05-23-2012 12:02 PM
WTB Pro tools Native card 68topls Buy & Sell 0 05-22-2012 09:53 PM
Pro Tools 10 Native card philip_purcell Pro Tools 10 Discussion 3 12-13-2011 05:57 PM
BEST CPU BASED SYSTEM FOR PRO TOOLS LE?? G5? Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-24-2004 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com