Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2010, 02:27 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,359
Default ilok on *networked* USB?

Hi!
With PT9, I am seriously considering "coming home." Due to disability, I am not always able to grab my ilok, and when I forget to bring it with me to use with my laptop (MacBook Pro, 1st gen Core2Duo).. well, it would simply be great to place my iloks on a USB hub that can be accessed anywhere in my home (small duplex). Yes, single computer at a time. If it were possible to simply run, say, 50ft of cable and then place my hub on some sort of switch, cool. But, IIRC, max length/run for USB is 5 meters? I would likely need closer to 15. One W7x64, one OSX 10.6.x.

So.. any low cost solutions?

(Oh.. also concerned about snapping off the ilok when using it with m laptop; I have used a USB extension in the past to minimize the likelihood of ilok damage, but I would still face my absent-mindedness)
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2010, 03:26 PM
jhamrick jhamrick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 153
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

You might want to look at Digi (not Digidesign) AnywhereUSB 2. http://www.digi.com/products/usb/anywhereusb.jsp#specs
I haven't tested this with ProTools but it did fulfill a requirement I had with running a virtual machine that required a USB license device.
__________________
-Jesse
___________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2010, 06:25 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,359
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Ah! Nice.. but $200 for the 2 port? A bit expensive for poor lil ole me. Trying to stay in the $20-100 neighborhood if possible. I guess if ti were a proven solution, and nothing else measured up.. maybe start saving. Thx!
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2010, 06:40 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,655
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

I don't have a solution for a "Network iLok"

Just here to say, welcome home.
__________________
David
- Trident TSM 52 Input Console
- HDX / OMNI / HD i/o's
- MacPro 8 Core 2.4 Westmere 28Gb RAM
- PT HD 10.3.3 + H.E.A.T. OS X 10.8.2
- SSL Nucleus Controller
- Dynaudio Acoustics BM6A's / Genelec 8040a / NS10's w/ Sub
- 1176's, LA2A's, ADL CL1500, Neve 1073's, 16 x Wunder Audio Pre's, Ward Beck's, API's, Misc Vintage outboard.
- 2x - HD3 Accel PCIe - 192 i/o's - 96 i/o's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2010, 06:56 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,771
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Wireless USB hub?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:12 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,160
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

My DLink DIR-655 has a USB port that can be shared; I thought this would be a perfect way to do exactly what you are trying to do, Nikki; go from studio to laptop and share the ilok between.

Unfortunately, I never got it to work with the DLink. (their software was a pain anyway...)

I know there are other companies' routers that have similar features, though; Maybe one of them would have better results?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:23 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,771
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spkguitar View Post
My DLink DIR-655 has a USB port that can be shared; I thought this would be a perfect way to do exactly what you are trying to do, Nikki; go from studio to laptop and share the ilok between.

Unfortunately, I never got it to work with the DLink. (their software was a pain anyway...)

I know there are other companies' routers that have similar features, though; Maybe one of them would have better results?

The USB port never worked on the D624S Storage Router either.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:58 PM
lego lego is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 365
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Wouldn't some kind of USB over Ethernet work for you? Like http://www.eltima.com/products/usb-over-ethernet/ for example?

I NEVER tested this kind of software, but maybe it's worth a try?
__________________
"The Mackey Big Knob is, you press little button and they can hear through the headphones, you can say whatever you wanted to them without you having to yell." by Tad Donley
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Exxille Exxille is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston MA USA
Posts: 50
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

here you go BELKIN NETWORK USB HUB does exactly what you want. funny I replied to another post about this device and its limitations HERE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2010, 08:49 AM
VoteNetti VoteNetti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 14
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exxille View Post
here you go BELKIN NETWORK USB HUB does exactly what you want. funny I replied to another post about this device and its limitations HERE
Exxille, i read your other post about the Belkin USB hub. i use this device also and would like to ask you a few questions about it without hijacking the thread. email swap?
__________________
Netti

"Yup, I hear stuff."

Dual 2.4Ghz Quad "Westmere"
14GB Ram
OS X 10.8.4
PT 10.6.7
HD Native PCIe + HD i/o 16x16 + 192 8x8x8
UA 2192 Master Clock and Mix in/playback
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT and networked storage bdangler Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 12-13-2011 02:52 PM
PT systems networked together filosofem 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-23-2005 04:31 AM
Protools LE on a networked PC Rob Enders 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-28-2004 07:06 PM
Anyone networked their PCs? greenroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 07-30-2002 05:16 AM
OT – Sharing DSL between a networked PC and a Mac valvebrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 06-27-2002 06:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com