Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-17-2017, 12:51 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 369
Default Video with PT 12.8 HD

Ok, video will not work with v 12.6.1 HD windows, but it works with 12.4
IS any body using the latest PT HD 12.8 with video, and using it for post?
I'm so frustrated with AVID...
I need to cut to picture...and no matter what I try, 12.6.1 crashes
12.4 seems to work...
I did not renew my subscription,because AVID just doesn't fix a darn thing...they seem to break it,when it comes to Windows
12.6.1 works on my Mac...but that is my MBP Pro...I need the horse power of my PC workstation
Can anyone confirm video works with Windows 10 pro on PT HD v 12.8.x
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
PT HD 12.6.1 on Mac
PT HD 12.6.1 on Windows
Cubase 9.5
Studio One v3.5
...........
Apollo 8 and Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2017, 02:14 PM
profdraper profdraper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 114
Default Re: Video with PT 12.8 HD

Confirmed that video with PTHD12.8 works as expected here ...

Mind you, there are a plethora of other inconsistencies /bugs with PTHD & windows 10 & which do not apply to any of the other software I have installed. PT is a bit like a virus with all of its various special reqs, AAX folders etc. Then there's the ancient UI with non-floating windows & old Win 7 look. Mad, running that on a couple of VDUs with much dicking about ...

I use both mac os and win platforms as well & for similar reasons you mention; in this case, for 4k video production & where any current mac simply doesn't have the level of hardware required. The only reason PT is sitting on this system is that (unlike other applications w/ dodgy AAF import) it so happens it round-trips perfectly with NLE DaVinci Resolve for final soundtrack finessing. Otherwise I stick to Nuendo et al. Zero issues there and all of the other apps actually look and run like a modern application built for Windows 10.

Back to the video question: the Resolve timeline export feature uses mxf to open a perfect session in PT, including all of the audio regions /placements and a rendered video file at user-designated res. This all scrolls, plays and performs well. Ditto w/ fresh importing & opening an external video in the timeline; has not had any problems with the usual container /codecs such as MP4, MOV, DHNxHD, ProRes etc.

Could be that you have a system issue & so perhaps a clean install /roll-back may be helpful? The GPU and/or drivers may also be worth investigating. One of the v. useful things about Win10 IMHO is 'restore points' & saving these deliberately has saved my ass on any number of occasions (including with multiple failed /idiotic error-ridden PT installs). Good luck.
__________________
Dell T7910 workstation: Win10 Pro; 64GB Ram; 2 x 12 core 3.0Ghz Xeons E5-2687Wv4; 2 x Nvidia Titan X GPUs; dual LG UHD & Samsung 4k displays; Samsung SSDs. UA Apollo & UAD-2 PCIe. USB-C 3.1, USB 3.0, Firewire 800, Thunderbolt 2. DAWs: Nuendo, Wavelab, Digital Performer, Ableton Live, Ohm Studio. NLEs: DaVinci Resolve, Adobe Premier Elements. Plug-ins: UAD, Steinberg, FabFilter, SoundToys, Sonnox. VIs: NI, Output, MOTU & Steinberg Absolute 3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-17-2017, 02:21 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 369
Default Re: Video with PT 12.8 HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by profdraper View Post
Confirmed that video with PTHD12.8 works as expected here ...



Mind you, there are a plethora of other inconsistencies /bugs with PTHD & windows 10 & which do not apply to any of the other software I have installed. PT is a bit like a virus with all of its various special reqs, AAX folders etc. Then there's the ancient UI with non-floating windows & old Win 7 look. Mad, running that on a couple of VDUs with much dicking about ...



I use both mac os and win platforms as well & for similar reasons you mention; in this case, for 4k video production & where any current mac simply doesn't have the level of hardware required. The only reason PT is sitting on this system is that (unlike other applications w/ dodgy AAF import) it so happens it round-trips perfectly with NLE DaVinci Resolve for final soundtrack finessing. Otherwise I stick to Nuendo et al. Zero issues there and all of the other apps actually look and run like a modern application built for Windows 10.



Back to the video question: the Resolve timeline export feature uses mxf to open a perfect session in PT, including all of the audio regions /placements and a rendered video file at user-designated res. This all scrolls, plays and performs well. Ditto w/ fresh importing & opening an external video in the timeline; has not had any problems with the usual container /codecs such as MP4, MOV, DHNxHD, ProRes etc.



Could be that you have a system issue & so perhaps a clean install /roll-back may be helpful? The GPU and/or drivers may also be worth investigating. One of the v. useful things about Win10 IMHO is 'restore points' & saving these deliberately has saved my ass on any number of occasions (including with multiple failed /idiotic error-ridden PT installs). Good luck.


Thank you so much for the confirmation, I just rolled PTHD to 12.4 and it works with video again
I can't believe how inept Avid is, they can,t get a video engine to work...with media composer,you'd think they have some solution
I know Neundo is not dependent on QT, Avid still has no solution

Cheers
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
PT HD 12.6.1 on Mac
PT HD 12.6.1 on Windows
Cubase 9.5
Studio One v3.5
...........
Apollo 8 and Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2017, 03:08 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,592
Default Re: Video with PT 12.8 HD

Rather than System Restore, which is limited in what it can do, I rely on Macrium Reflect. There is a free version.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2017, 08:24 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 369
Default Video with PT 12.8 HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Rather than System Restore, which is limited in what it can do, I rely on Macrium Reflect. There is a free version.


Thanks,I have Macrium Reflect,I always keep my system drive cloned...
So do you have video on PTHD with 12.8 ? On Windows 10 Pro ..
Or as stated your on 12.4 ?
Just trying to figure out what is going on with with the video engine..
It seems since Avid went to the cloud BS, all the problems started on windows past 12.4..this is just speculation on my part,
it seems to be what is causing issues...on my system
I can use 12.6.1, if I where just doing audio,but I need video support...
I also use thunderbolt and it works great, Cubase,and Studio One 3 all work, as expected with video, only Avid is having problems on my system.

Cheers
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
PT HD 12.6.1 on Mac
PT HD 12.6.1 on Windows
Cubase 9.5
Studio One v3.5
...........
Apollo 8 and Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2017, 07:33 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,592
Default Re: Video with PT 12.8 HD

Hardly ever use video. I went back to 12.4 because of the Batch Fade issues that happened after 12.4 and the fact 12.8 was slow for opening sessions and performing some things in PT.

I don't normally clone, I just do images nightly and before any update/upgrade/install/uninstall. I find images quicker and easier to deal with than clones. YMMV.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'The Video Engine reported and error' message when trying to play any video zerothrills Pro Tools 12 Discussion 5 10-04-2017 01:05 PM
Video Engine not working.. crashing when i load in a video to PT11 sarahsherlock Pro Tools 11 Discussion 5 08-16-2014 12:35 AM
Video card recommendations for new PTHD AND video editor build... songwritersoul Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 03-24-2012 07:31 AM
Sharing a video in same session for ADR (video in booth and video in control room) Boogie457 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-01-2010 04:52 PM
Slaving a video recorder/camera to PT HD transport? Recording synced video with audio sonicam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-18-2010 09:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com