Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2121  
Old 05-19-2017, 11:11 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,506
Default Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Was running a PC native but with HD software

Am running a Icon with 12HD

Sorry for the confusion
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #2122  
Old 06-23-2017, 08:33 AM
controlfader controlfader is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

i wonder how this new article affects the desires of all contributors to our DUC thread ?

https://hardware.slashdot.org/story/17/06/22/2040252/the-us-government-wants-to-permanently-legalize-the-right-to-repair

https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/a...ight-to-repair
Reply With Quote
  #2123  
Old 06-23-2017, 05:52 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,069
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I am totally for this and have been for a long time but if anything like this would be passed on to the world we can count on a loooooooooooong wait for the law to take effect so by then the Avid ICON and S6 et al will be long gone ..
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #2124  
Old 06-23-2017, 05:54 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 371
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by controlfader View Post

It makes complete and total sense. Hopefully it becomes legal on a broader level, where repair includes aftermarket fixes, etc that can be implemented. That would really light a fire under the collective arses of R&D in companies like Avid and similar who seem inclined to string users along and try to gain profits using nothing more than boardroom determined expiry dates.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Protools 12.8.2. Antelope Zen Studio. Mac Pro 5,1 12core 3.33Ghz, 32Gb. SSD system drive + 4 audio HDD. OSX 10.12.6.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #2125  
Old 07-14-2017, 06:13 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I wonder if any of the software at this page could create a translation type of interface.
http://www.hw-group.com/products/hercules/index_en.html
Reply With Quote
  #2126  
Old 07-17-2017, 08:47 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 481
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
I wonder if any of the software at this page could create a translation type of interface.
http://www.hw-group.com/products/hercules/index_en.html
No the software will see the Pro Control but has no way to communicate.
It's about using a 32 bit com object in a 64 bit process. Something like a VST wrapper could work but again Avid would need to supply the header information or better yet just port the damn profiles to 64bit.
They purposely bricked these babies going forward and it's a shame.
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
  #2127  
Old 07-17-2017, 09:01 AM
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,133
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

My understanding from the early ads for them was that these controllers directly addressed the low level audio engine assembler code rather than connecting through the GUI. If that's true, there's a lot more to this than just a 64 bit driver.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #2128  
Old 07-17-2017, 11:13 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 481
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
My understanding from the early ads for them was that these controllers directly addressed the low level audio engine assembler code rather than connecting through the GUI. If that's true, there's a lot more to this than just a 64 bit driver.
Same Diginet protocol as Icon, C24, 003, Command 8
Reply With Quote
  #2129  
Old 07-17-2017, 01:54 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcwiz View Post
snip . . .
They purposely bricked these babies going forward and it's a shame.
Yeah, it really is. And also ill-thought-out by those at Avid doing the "computations".
If there were to be a new 64-bit driver released for these control surfaces, the owners of these control surfaces would be going out buying nice new Avid Software for thousands of dollars. They would be subscribing to Avid's services. Avid would be receiving ongoing income streams from all these users from this point forwards.

Instead, many Pro Tools users have been observing this thread - both owners and non-owners of these control-surfaces - and seeing the zero respect that Avid's high-end customers are given. This affects their future hardware-buying decisions.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 07-17-2017 at 02:13 PM. Reason: added additional comment.
Reply With Quote
  #2130  
Old 08-09-2017, 01:28 PM
TrackerLe TrackerLe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 106
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Does that mean, that the Mackie HUI, released in 1997 does work with
Protools 12, but Avids (Digidesign) OWN Controller Control 24, which was released 2001 does not work with PT12HD....

I switched to an avid s3 and dock combo and i am quite happy with it, but
i miss the meter bridge, the LED Rings, the 5.1 Monitor controller, the line Mixer...
and of course the 24 faders (s3+dock only 17 faders)

Now my Control 24 is in the basement, cause i cannot use it anymore...
Protools 10 doesnt work with Sierra... I tried it, but no chance, cause the actual
HD Driver doesn´t work with PT10HD...

Come on Avid... You still support the protocol Hui, which is much older than the Control 24...

Please make the Control 24 work with PT12... Its ridiculous, that
any super old hui controller work with the actual version...
only your OWN Hardware is dumped... You support Hardware older than the Control 24... So why not make YOUR control 24 working in pt12...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 05:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 04:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 11:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com