Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2017, 06:11 PM
myke2242's Avatar
myke2242 myke2242 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orange, OC
Posts: 426
Default Midi Note Auditioning

is there a way to get midi notes to play when moving via key command (ctl -/+)?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2017, 11:30 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 6,999
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

No, there isn't. I'll check if this is by design.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 12.7.1 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2017, 11:59 PM
myke2242's Avatar
myke2242 myke2242 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orange, OC
Posts: 426
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Thanks. it would be nice addition but i am sure there is a massive list of suggestions for new features.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2017, 08:25 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,637
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

They do on my rig. Must be a setting somewhere
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2017, 08:58 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 6,999
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
They do on my rig. Must be a setting somewhere
That's weird. I have "Play MIDI notes when editing" turned on, and click'n'dragging a note will produce sound, but Ctrl+plus/minus doesn't.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 12.7.1 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2017, 05:58 PM
myke2242's Avatar
myke2242 myke2242 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orange, OC
Posts: 426
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
That's weird. I have "Play MIDI notes when editing" turned on, and click'n'dragging a note will produce sound, but Ctrl+plus/minus doesn't.
maybe that is 12.x vs 11.x thing. i have a upgrade planned for after this project so i guess i will see!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2017, 09:13 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Hmm? Interested to see who has this working, Just tried the command +/- and Ctrl +/- modifiers to start moving notes around with Boom with no sound or events triggering in the instrument. Using 12.7.1 HD on an iMac running Yosemite for this quick test.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2017, 11:39 AM
PhilSchroeder's Avatar
PhilSchroeder PhilSchroeder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 68
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
That's weird. I have "Play MIDI notes when editing" turned on, and click'n'dragging a note will produce sound, but Ctrl+plus/minus doesn't.
Stig! I can't for the life of me find the "Play MIDI Notes When Editing" option. Where in the *&^*&^ is it? Thanks for the help.
__________________
MacPro 3.33GHz, 2012 6-core
OS 10.11.3
32G RAM
PT 12.4 HDX
HD IO (8x8x8), 192 IO, MIDI IO
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2017, 12:06 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway, @ home...........
Posts: 6,999
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilSchroeder View Post
Stig! I can't for the life of me find the "Play MIDI Notes When Editing" option. Where in the *&^*&^ is it? Thanks for the help.
Phil! It's to the right of the edit selection end numbers at the top of the edit window. A small MIDI plug/speaker icon.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX 12.7.1 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2017, 05:20 AM
myke2242's Avatar
myke2242 myke2242 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orange, OC
Posts: 426
Default Re: Midi Note Auditioning

Just to confirm, you are using keyboard shortcuts? This still only works when dragging notes on PT 12.8 for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length kingofallwookies Pro Tools 11 Discussion 2 02-07-2014 08:10 AM
Auditioning MIDI loops scripguy Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 01-18-2013 10:54 AM
Midi 101 really missing? Set high note/low note on track's input robinsonsdca Pro Tools Software (Mac) 4 11-10-2011 02:23 PM
EXPORT MIDI from Stryke NOTE FOR NOTE... riggi Virtual Instruments 1 03-10-2008 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com