Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2011, 01:24 PM
SNAPPER SNAPPER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 138
Default song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while transl

song will not open, could not complete the open session command because...while translating tracks

song loading stops at creating main mixer spdif L-R


Just upgraded to PT9, worked fine in PT8.
many of my other songs open fine, just this one has a problem.
weeks of work went into this song

help me
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2011, 01:43 PM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 612
Default Re: song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while tr

Maybe you could try using a different audio card/engine,-holding the(n) key-while PT boots?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2011, 03:09 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while tr

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNAPPER View Post
song will not open, could not complete the open session command because...while translating tracks

song loading stops at creating main mixer spdif L-R


Just upgraded to PT9, worked fine in PT8.
many of my other songs open fine, just this one has a problem.
weeks of work went into this song

help me
Its probably a corrupt session. Check the manual on "import session data". do that, excluding the tracks using the path spdf, and rebuild those after import. You should be fine. ff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2017, 07:37 PM
stereoman stereoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: 42 Beach Road
Posts: 3
Default Re: song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while tr

I get something similar but I don't think it's a corrupted session i've had a few of them in the past, this is different I get this all the time in Protools 10 but as soon as I reboot and reload the session it works, i'm using an Mbox 3 in windows 10 x64 i'm thinking it's avid drivers that's the problem, I also get dropouts in windows when the sound just stops but if I changed the playback sample rate my interface starts working again. Only advice I can give is reboot your machine, it's annoying but it always fixes it for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2017, 12:34 AM
stereoman stereoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: 42 Beach Road
Posts: 3
Default Re: song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while tr

So I just figured out why this is happening, it's due to a file ownership problem in Windows 10 the way to fix it is to install Take Ownership option you can find details on how to do that here

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...menu-in-vista/

it says it's for windows vista but it works for windows 7 and windows 10 as well, just follow the guide and install it once it's installed open your session folder and right click the protools file you want to open then select take ownership, after that your file should open without issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2017, 11:00 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,433
Default Re: song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while tr

On Windows make sure your onboard soundcard is the default for Windows sounds/audio and leave the Mbox 3 only for Pro Tools. This may not be your issue, but it will solve other issues that may crop up.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2017, 12:32 PM
stereoman stereoman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: 42 Beach Road
Posts: 3
Default Re: song will not open, could not complete the open session commandbecause...while tr

So I just figured out why this is happening, it's due to a file ownership problem in Windows the way to fix it is to install Take Ownership option you can find details on how to do that here

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windo...menu-in-vista/

it says it's for windows vista but it works for windows 7 and windows 10 as well, just follow the guide and install it once it's installed open your session folder and right click the protools file you want to open then select take ownership, after that your file should open without issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open PT9 Session in PT10 - ""could not complete the open sessions command..." median Pro Tools 10 Discussion 5 10-01-2013 11:14 AM
Could not complete the Open Session... Carpedrum Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 09-14-2011 02:31 PM
Could not complete the Open Session? nmeisyou Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 09-15-2010 04:12 PM
.. Could not complete "Open Session.." shtik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-08-2007 08:28 AM
Could not complete Open Session... bearease Post - Surround - Video 3 10-13-2006 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com