Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-14-2010, 09:24 AM
Exxille Exxille is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston MA USA
Posts: 50
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

sure email is exxiille@Gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-14-2010, 03:31 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,771
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exxille View Post
sure email is exxiille@Gmail.com
I think I would change that to something the webcrawlers are less likely to catch like "yourname"[at]"ISP".
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-13-2016, 02:16 AM
hoodwinked hoodwinked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Sorry to dig up an old thread, but I thought this could be useful to some:


For anyone wondering about ilok network sharing, I have it successfully working with VirtualHere. I was running into the same problems others were, receiving messages about the ilok being connected to two computers simultaneously, blah blah.

SO....I had a Raspberry Pi laying around and installed the linux VirtualHere server, very easy. I plugged my iLok v2 and Waves license flash drive into the RasPi, launched VirtualHere on my OSX 10.10.5 machine, and it popped right up. I bought the VirtualHere license so I could do more than 1 device. I was able to mount the iLok and Waves dongle at once. I then launched ProTools HD 11.3.2 with success, no errors. It works! Of course you can only mount each dongle to one system, so those that think they can share one dongle and run multiple instances of protools, sorry, you need the licenses.

My theory is that the computers people were trying to run the Server application on were all systems that had the iLok license manger and interlock extensions installed, so thats why it yells at you when you share it to another computer, perhaps a fresh install of OSX would solve it because there would be no iLok software installed. I prefer the RasPi because I can hook all my dongles to one small device and share to anyone, which of course has the inheret downside of a single failure point. In my experience the RasPi machines are very stable.

I have tested the following plugins:
Waves Platinum
Altiverb 7 XL
Dolby Media Meter
iZotope RX 5 Adv
Speakerphone
Fabfilter Volcano and Timeless
Soundminer v4.5

Now I can mount any ilok on any computer on my network, including anywhere in the world using my VPN. Technology is great! https://static.gearslutz.com/board/i...ies/nu/061.gif
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-09-2017, 08:42 AM
ElenRey ElenRey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 1
Default Re: ilok on *networked* USB?

Hello,
I found one article which could help you to find solution as i see.
Here (http://www.flexihub.com/usb-anywhere-alternative.html) are two ways to access remote device: by hardware Anywhere USB and by soft Flexihub. Both solutions will be good in your issue, but both have some limitation.

I hope it could be helpful
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT and networked storage bdangler Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 12-13-2011 02:52 PM
PT systems networked together filosofem 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-23-2005 04:31 AM
Protools LE on a networked PC Rob Enders 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-28-2004 07:06 PM
Anyone networked their PCs? greenroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 07-30-2002 05:16 AM
OT – Sharing DSL between a networked PC and a Mac valvebrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 06-27-2002 06:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com