Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2017, 11:42 AM
JClayton JClayton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Pasadena CA
Posts: 6
Default (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

Hi Guys. Long time reader, first post in years (actually had to create a new account ). Iíve been looking for threads on this subject, but just decided to post after not finding much. Iím here because I wonder if any of you have actually Ďdowngradedí your PT rig? Currently, Iím running an HDX, HD I/O 16x16, and C24. A few years ago when I was doing more tracking, and had a big room, this system made sense. Now that Iím doing mostly vocal recording, in the box production, and havenít tracked more than 6 channels at at time in probably 4 years, itís absolute overkill, especially because it seems with every UAD plug I discover, it's one less AAX DSP plug I'm using. I also am finding the C24 to almost be a hindrance in my current workflow because itís so big in my new room. Lastly, I'm not thrilled with paying out the arse to keep my system that I already paid out the arse for current, especially when Iím barely using its capabilities, and with a lot of the new soft synths coming out, I need to keep my system mildly current (I'm not a habitual updater--updates give me ulcers).

Long story short, against every gear whore instinct in my body, Iím considering dumping the whole system for a UA Apollo 8P, Slate Raven MTi2, and going to native Pro Tools. The only thing I can think of that Iíll miss, is Iíve grown accustomed to zero latency tracking in the DAW without having to run some other DSP mixer on top of it, but I realize that pretty much any modern computer can give you pretty close to zero latency--it's not 2000 anymore. Iíll also miss that Pro Tools HD splash screen that tells me Iím playing with the big boys (but thatís kind of a dumb reason). I remember the first time I saw that screen when I upgraded to HD back in 2005. It was an incredible feeling of accomplishment.

Has anyone here gone this route, and do you have any regrets?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2017, 12:15 PM
djjazzy41 djjazzy41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Spirit Lake, IA, U.S.A.
Posts: 109
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by JClayton View Post
Hi Guys. Long time reader, first post in years (actually had to create a new account ). Iíve been looking for threads on this subject, but just decided to post after not finding much. Iím here because I wonder if any of you have actually Ďdowngradedí your PT rig? Currently, Iím running an HDX, HD I/O 16x16, and C24. A few years ago when I was doing more tracking, and had a big room, this system made sense. Now that Iím doing mostly vocal recording, in the box production, and havenít tracked more than 6 channels at at time in probably 4 years, itís absolute overkill, especially because it seems with every UAD plug I discover, it's one less AAX DSP plug I'm using. I also am finding the C24 to almost be a hindrance in my current workflow because itís so big in my new room. Lastly, I'm not thrilled with paying out the arse to keep my system that I already paid out the arse for current, especially when Iím barely using its capabilities, and with a lot of the new soft synths coming out, I need to keep my system mildly current (I'm not a habitual updater--updates give me ulcers).

Long story short, against every gear whore instinct in my body, Iím considering dumping the whole system for a UA Apollo 8P, Slate Raven MTi2, and going to native Pro Tools. The only thing I can think of that Iíll miss, is Iíve grown accustomed to zero latency tracking in the DAW without having to run some other DSP mixer on top of it, but I realize that pretty much any modern computer can give you pretty close to zero latency--it's not 2000 anymore. Iíll also miss that Pro Tools HD splash screen that tells me Iím playing with the big boys (but thatís kind of a dumb reason). I remember the first time I saw that screen when I upgraded to HD back in 2005. It was an incredible feeling of accomplishment.

Has anyone here gone this route, and do you have any regrets?
I used to have nearly the exact setup you have now. The first thing to go was the C24. I still regret that and miss it when mixing and editing. I have now gone the other direction and have 3 HDiOs and an Omni for 56 simultaneous tracking capability. Will I ever use them all at once? Never. However, I built and cabled my rooms so that basically everything has its own dedicated input so I don't have to constantly move my input and output settings in ProTools, or move physical cables. I may even swap out the Omni for another HDiO just to have the additional 8 channels if I ever wanted to add preamps with their own dedicated inputs.

But that wasn't what you asked. So to that end, I also know an engineer who has the Apollo rig you referenced and he just got done flying from L.A. out to Aspen, CO to record an artist in their own element. The ease of just packing up the system and "bringing the engineer to the artist" worked great for him. I will also say that in my secondary room, I just run native because I rarely track more than one track at a time when needed in that room, and it works perfectly for that scenario. So I would say that if you are pretty sure that how you are using the system today is not going to change or increase in size over the next several years, you are probably safe in downsizing the rig. To your point, the technology in the new interfaces and software is light years beyond where it was 10 years ago when I got started. If you have a relatively new computer, you should be fine. I just personally can't give up all that power even if I only need it 1% of the time. Like I said, I wish I still had my C24. On the other hand, you could buy one heck of a native rig if you sold the C24, HDX card, and an HDiO!
__________________
Originally Posted by The Egg: Be a Pro and stop being a Tool!


Mac Pro (5,1) 12-core Westmere 3.46gHz
OSX Sierra (10.12.6)
980Gb OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD system drive
(3) 1Tb 7200rpm audio hard drives
64Gb RAM
Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition Video Card
1 Avid HDX Card
Avid HD Omni, 3 Avid HD I/Os
PT HDX 12.8.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2017, 02:16 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,900
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

I see no issue with "downgrading" for reasons you mentioned. I love the sound of UA plugins, but I rarely use them due to the latency involved in the round trip to my quad card(if I only had it to do over.....). To me, Apollo makes a ton of sense if you love their plugins, and tracking thru them would be really nice. I went HDN because at the time, Apollo was still a "work in progress" with no Thunderbolt for PC, limited Windows features and . If I were building a rig today and the 4 headphone mix was enough(I need 6 for my setup), Apollo would be a no brainer
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2017, 02:17 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,114
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

What does Heresy mean in the title ??
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2017, 02:28 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,006
Default (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

Google it.

He basically means he is considering doing it even though it goes against the conventional wisdom. Although heresy typically has a religious connotation.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2017, 02:38 PM
Manu101 Manu101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 110
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

If you don't do surround and don't need the advanced mixing features, then in your case, you don't need HD.
__________________
Manu

i7 7800X - Win10 - PT12HD - TC Electronic Studio Konnekt 48 - 2x MC Mix, 1x MC Transport, Pro tools Control app on an Ipad mini 2 - Equator D8 5.1 system - Tannoy TS10 Sub
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2017, 04:21 PM
JClayton JClayton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Pasadena CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

Feedback appreciated. Heresy was basically me going on an HDX forum to ask people about not needing HDX. Kind of like asking a priest for permission to burn down his church
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2017, 04:56 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,114
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by JClayton View Post
Feedback appreciated. Heresy was basically me going on an HDX forum to ask people about not needing HDX. Kind of like asking a priest for permission to burn down his church
Thanks

Drew - Thanks to you aswell

You know us swedes, sometimes words popup we never heard or used before.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2017, 06:46 PM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

I ran an HD5 setup for more than 10 years. I downgraded to non HD about 2 years ago and am fine with the decision. I am busier than ever, and I track hundreds of sessions a year. And mix even more than that. I DID recently upgrade the core of my Mac for about 500. That helped with some monster 100+ track 30 instance of Autotune and amp sim style tracks. All that at 64 buffer. No one has ever complained about latency.

I much prefer not worrying about voices, or the lack of DSP plugins, or worrying that even if I had HDX, the use of some of my favorite plugins (which are native), would essentially turn my system into a Native one anyways.

HDX would be fine I suppose. But right now I have not regretted a single minute the choice to go Native. I'm still making a living and don't compromise a thing in the process.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 2x2.4Ghz Quad Core Xeon
HD Native
40 gig Ram (four 8s and two 4s)
PT 10/11/12.4
Yosemite
192 IO and 96 IO

HD5 Accel (core, 2 accel, 2 process) - sitting in a box
Magma PE6R4 - sitting in a box
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-29-2017, 02:37 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,517
Default Re: (Heresy) Pro Tools Hardware Downgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by JClayton View Post
but I realize that pretty much any modern computer can give you pretty close to zero latency--it's not 2000 anymore.

I don't believe this for a bit, TB you get better specs but not every native system is going to give you a 64 buffer (stably on a full mix)

If your going Apollo it won't much matter, but the cards really help lower the latency.....
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson
For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 8.0.5 upgrade issues - Anyway to downgrade without an install disc? ProToolsGuy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-31-2011 10:55 PM
Downgrade to Pro Tools 7.3 xterraguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-16-2010 08:30 PM
Anyone know how to downgrade pro tools 8 to 7.4 online? Johnny ROCKET(!!!) General Discussion 0 01-15-2010 08:28 PM
Pro tools le with a downgrade g5 bdornotbd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-02-2005 04:56 AM
Abandon the 001? Heresy! ThomCat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-01-2001 12:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com