Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2001, 07:30 AM
eme1 eme1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 5
Default Apogee AD8000 or RME ADI-8

Which Converter is better.
Which one should I buy, money is no object.

[This message has been edited by eme1 (edited February 25, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2001, 08:16 AM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Re: Apogee AD8000 or RME ADI-8

Neither. If your in the position to purchase an Apogee AD8000, then tossing the 001 in the trash and picking up a PT24 Mix+ system should be your first choice. That's like putting a Viper engine in an old Chevy Vega........
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2001, 09:35 AM
bassmac bassmac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,754
Default Re: Apogee AD8000 or RME ADI-8

Beg to differ -

If you run a signal from a hi-end converter direct to disc via optical, then it doesn’t really matter what system you have because essentially you’re bypassing it - aren’t you?

I’ve heard you can get better sounding tracks this way than with the Mix Plus / Pro Tools converters for alot less money.

If you’re not limited by the LE software, and you only need 24 tracks, the 001 along with a hi-end optical converter and pre-amp sure seems like a good way to go for quality tracking at a more affordable price.



------------------
bassmac
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2001, 03:19 PM
Jason from MaggieJack Jason from MaggieJack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Posts: 138
Default Re: Apogee AD8000 or RME ADI-8

Hello, I have not used either but from a post I read a while back, the RME was just as good as the Apogee if not better for a lot less. Then another guy said he heard from a very reputable source that RME made the converters for Apogee.

I think you are right about using the 001 with really great converters and preamps.

P.S. If money is no option, will you buy me one too?

Peace,
Jason
http://www.maggiejack.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using Apogee AD8000 ?? Bob Legs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-29-2005 09:25 PM
HD and Apogee AD8000 cachemira Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-13-2004 02:13 AM
Apogee AD8000 jayruston Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-08-2003 06:28 AM
OO2 WITH APOGEE AD8000! G-MIX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-26-2002 10:14 PM
APOGEE AD8000 WITH 001 LE G-MIX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-22-2002 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com