Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2000, 02:28 PM
Rich_L Rich_L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Corvallis, OR, USA
Posts: 12
Default System sounds through 001?



It all started with getting my monitors finally setup and running. I thought it would be interesting to hear some CDs through my new Event 20/20 bas speakers. So, last night I searched the DUC and found out how to use the Sound control panel to route it's output to the 001, then I downloaded the multi-media patch from Apple that updates system 9.0.4 so that it will work with the DigiSystem Init. It worked, Joao Gilberto sounded great through these monitors.
This morning I tried to launch ProTools and found out it would not start up. I got the "Protools hardware is either not installed or used by another program" message. It launched after I switched the Sound control panel's output setting back to "Built in."

So, my question: Am I missing something here? Is there a way to play audio through the 001 from other programs (like Finale,) and also be able to run ProTools without having to change the output destination in the Sound control panel and restarting?

Thanks,

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2000, 04:04 PM
thwing thwing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2
Default Re: System sounds through 001?

If I were trying to do that, I'd patch my computer line out into an available Digi 001 input (I assume the line out is a stereo miniplug so you'd need a converter thingie). If that didn't work I'd kick it really hard.

thwing


<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Rich_L:


It all started with getting my monitors finally setup and running. I thought it would be interesting to hear some CDs through my new Event 20/20 bas speakers. So, last night I searched the DUC and found out how to use the Sound control panel to route it's output to the 001, then I downloaded the multi-media patch from Apple that updates system 9.0.4 so that it will work with the DigiSystem Init. It worked, Joao Gilberto sounded great through these monitors.
This morning I tried to launch ProTools and found out it would not start up. I got the "Protools hardware is either not installed or used by another program" message. It launched after I switched the Sound control panel's output setting back to "Built in."

So, my question: Am I missing something here? Is there a way to play audio through the 001 from other programs (like Finale,) and also be able to run ProTools without having to change the output destination in the Sound control panel and restarting?

Thanks,

Rich
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

__________________
thwing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2000, 05:14 PM
DanXx DanXx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 73
Default Re: System sounds through 001?

Hi,

I have the same problem.. and even a bit worse...
When I get the "Pro Tools hardware in use" message and set system sound output to build in, I can't get PT to work any more, only a restart helps..

My sys: G4 400 single proc, OS9.0.4

Greets, Dan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2000, 09:26 PM
latenights latenights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: maleny Queensland Australia
Posts: 107
Default Re: System sounds through 001?

This Happens so many times it is still a twisted joke.But I always select digidesign in the sound control panel then restart.This works 99% of the time.9.0.4 seems full of this **** .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD|N and system sounds... danander11 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 17 11-04-2013 12:05 PM
HD|N and system sounds... danander11 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-28-2012 05:24 AM
Pro TOols playback is OK, system sounds and other sounds won't play bimple Windows 1 08-24-2011 05:14 PM
System sounds & MBox robbins876 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-22-2003 12:00 AM
mix sounds different on a hi-fi system ChenteleyA Tips & Tricks 10 02-06-2003 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com