Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2013, 07:53 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,527
Default Consolidating

Hell everyone, A session got pretty messy, edit wise, and I fixed everything with crossfades,etc. So I consolidated all tracks imported into a new session but none of my cross fades were included?, I did make sure that I left the checkbox unmarked. Did I miss a step?, thanks
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2013, 04:13 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: Consolidating

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Hell everyone, A session got pretty messy, edit wise, and I fixed everything with crossfades,etc. So I consolidated all tracks imported into a new session but none of my cross fades were included?, I did make sure that I left the checkbox unmarked. Did I miss a step?, thanks
To be clear, you checked all your fades, then used Consolidate Clip (Command Shift 3 on the Mac) and PT rendered a new clip to the same track, flattening it to one clip, correct?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2013, 06:55 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,527
Default Re: Consolidating

I sure did Dave, thanks
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 11-02-2013 at 10:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2013, 07:42 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,818
Default Re: Consolidating

Quote:
Originally Posted by basslik View Post
Hell everyone, A session got pretty messy, edit wise, and I fixed everything with crossfades,etc. So I consolidated all tracks imported into a new session but none of my cross fades were included?, I did make sure that I left the checkbox unmarked. Did I miss a step?, thanks

When you 'consolidate' you have ProTools look at EVERYTHING you've done to that file (except for processing) and create a brand new, one piece file. Your cross fades are, basically, gone.

If you were happy with what you did when you consolidated, live with it.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2013, 10:48 AM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,527
Default Re: Consolidating

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Seaberg View Post
When you 'consolidate' you have ProTools look at EVERYTHING you've done to that file (except for processing) and create a brand new, one piece file. Your cross fades are, basically, gone.

If you were happy with what you did when you consolidated, live with it.
Hi Eric, OK when you say they are gone, you mean visibly or when I consolidated the fades did not remain with the region? Also what the statement (LIVE WITH IT), I don't quite understand. I did save as and have another backup with all the fades.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2013, 11:34 AM
crowdog crowdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Jim Thorpe, PA
Posts: 609
Default Re: Consolidating

Your fades are written into the consolidated file, so you they are now fixed (unchangeable) and if you like your edits then you are good to go.
__________________
___________________________________________
Mac Pro 2 x quad-core 2.8Ghz / 14GB RAM / OSX 10.6.8/ PT10.0.1 / 003R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2013, 12:41 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,527
Default Re: Consolidating

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowdog View Post
Your fades are written into the consolidated file, so you they are now fixed (unchangeable) and if you like your edits then you are good to go.
crowdog thank you very, that's what I thought, I must ha a duplicate track playing is what I heard. SWEET
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 96ram - Mt. Lion 10.8.5 - PT 9.O.6 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bursts After Consolidating pfo macOS 0 12-27-2011 09:49 PM
Consolidating file Southern Prince Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-24-2009 07:58 AM
DAE issues when consolidating dulirious 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-26-2008 10:53 AM
Consolidating Audio DigidudeFL Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-28-2005 03:59 PM
consolidating surchur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-28-2001 09:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com