Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2012, 12:42 PM
johnnybregar johnnybregar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 26
Default Getting started on Pro Tools

Hello,

I'm a Cubase/Nuendo user, but I have to start using Pro Tools 10, as almost all of my clients are requesting it, especially if they mix somewhere else. So I bought and installed it, and I have a couple of very basic questions if someone would care to help. I'm using a MacBook Pro, late 2011.

1. With the demo projects that come with PT 10, if I try to select a track to edit, every time I select, ALL the tracks are selected at once. I tried to find help on this. I looked up "link, linked tracks, groups" and I could not find out why all tracks are mimicking the behavior of any single track (including expanding, automation, etc). When I finally looked at the "All" group, I decided to disable it. That seemed to allow me to edit tracks. But I must be missing something here - do I have to always disable the main group to edit an individual track?

2. I'm confused about the timeline. How do I set project in/out points? I'm used to setting that region in Nuendo, and it sticks the whole time I'm working on the file. It seems that the locator points in PT10 always move when I move my cursor. Do I always have to set new in/out points every time I want to export? If so, how does one ensure that the song length will always be the same? I did some initial reading here too, but came up short.

Thanks in advance for any help.


And now, I just *have* to rant for one moment - if only to help things improve in the future. Here's my very first install experience. Please skip it if you don't want my sob story.

1. Put disc in and installed PT. That seemed to go fine.

2. Tried to register. First I went to my account on Avid's site. I could not find anywhere to register the software. After a while, I looked at the yellow card that comes with the software and found that it says to go to www.avid.com/reg. So I did.

3. After filling out the registration form (without the release code) I hit submit. Got an error saying my session timed out. So I did it again. Same thing. And again. Gave up.

4. I decided to just launch PT and see what happened. After loading the plugins and startup, it launched a registration form. Aha! So I tried to fill it out. But all the text boxes were BLACK!!!! Couldn't see what I was typing until I highlighted my text! Man - this is starting to get stupid. I finally got all the way down to the end, but still had the release code to fill in for my registration. Um, where is the release code? My yellow card has nothing even vaguely resembling this - unless it's on the white sticker, and then it's not 4 digits like the XXXX implies onscreen when you're filling out the form. So I tried a few things, and failed. Gave up and opened my first support ticket - yup - on how to register. Oy.

5. Finally I went to try to update to 10.2. Yow!! It's really hard to find the updates online! I ended up searching for it using the search function online and eventually found it. Downloaded 10.2 and installed it. The install failed. I unplugged my iLoc and reinstalled, and it worked.

That's my story. It's a harsh intro to Pro Tools. I'm hoping I got all my bad luck out in one day.

Thanks for listening.

Johnny
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2012, 02:39 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: Getting started on Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybregar View Post
It's a harsh intro to Pro Tools. I'm hoping I got all my bad luck out in one day.

Thanks for listening.

Johnny
Hi Johnny,

Welcome to Pro Tools. Sorry to hear about the hassle you had to go through. I would like to think with the background you describe it should be quite doable to make the jump. I think you're looking to understand some basic concepts of the Pro Tools environment to get you rolling.

One of my sons recently started out from scratch. No background with DAW's whatsoever and he managed to get things running on his own and is now happily experimenting along with Pro Tools on his MBP.

I got him a subscription to Macprovideo.com. It is quite affordable and AMAZING for stuff like this. I have used it myself as well and even with all my years of experience I learned A LOT from watching the tutorials.

Don't misread the name 'video' ... there's a lot more to that website than just video tutorials and a complete and very extended list of Pro Tools 10 tutorials is one of them. Check it out ....

Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2012, 04:11 PM
johnnybregar johnnybregar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 26
Default Re: Getting started on Pro Tools

Thanks Chris,

I will check it out. It sounds just like what I need at the moment. Once I learn how to do the basics, I think the advanced stuff will come quickly since I already have a strong working knowledge of the general concepts of what I want to do.

I'm looking forward to seeing how to buss audio in and out of my external hardware - that's where Nuendo and Cubase really shine.

I also have the Avid Artist Mix though, and I've had issues with it in Cubase and Nuendo. I expect my experience will be dramatically better on PT....

Cheers,

jb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Started with Pro Tools SE Avid Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 09-16-2010 03:43 PM
Getting Started with Pro Tools SE Avid Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 0 09-16-2010 03:41 PM
Getting Started w/Pro-tools MEC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-29-2002 02:14 PM
Getting Started w/Pro-tools MEC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-29-2002 10:49 AM
Help getting started with Pro Tools 001 TimiHendrix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-15-2002 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com