Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 05-22-2012, 06:21 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 10.0.1 crash/freeze on GigaByte EX58-UD3R + W7 sp1 64bit Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
So you're at work surfing the DUC.

Shane
Guilty as charged

DUC'ing might not be a documented part of my job description
but luckily self study/specialization is.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-22-2012, 08:56 AM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Wink Re: Pro Tools HD 10.0.1 crash/freeze on GigaByte EX58-UD3R + W7 sp1 64bit Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Guilty as charged

DUC'ing might not be a documented part of my job description
but luckily self study/specialization is.
HAHA ...same boat here!
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-23-2012, 12:43 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 10.0.1 crash/freeze on GigaByte EX58-UD3R + W7 sp1 64bit Ultimate

10.2 seems to work fine here.

Iv only tested a couple of hours on a 192 KHz 32bit session with about 10 audio tracks and 10 instrument tracks
(with Nexus2 and Xpand2!) but no freezes so far.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 05-23-2012, 03:35 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 10.0.1 crash/freeze on GigaByte EX58-UD3R + W7 sp1 64bit Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
10.2 seems to work fine here.

Iv only tested a couple of hours on a 192 KHz 32bit session with about 10 audio tracks and 10 instrument tracks
(with Nexus2 and Xpand2!) but no freezes so far.
192k/32-bit is definitely pushing the system to the extreme. If it's running smooth at that level, then that's pretty good news!

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 05-23-2012, 11:33 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,030
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 10.0.1 crash/freeze on GigaByte EX58-UD3R + W7 sp1 64bit Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
192k/32-bit is definitely pushing the system to the extreme. If it's running smooth at that level, then that's pretty good news!

Shane

Yes. Also CPU resources seems to have dropped about 10% with 10.2.

My 20+ track 192KHz 32 bit session is running at 30-40%.
Befor 10.2 it was running closer to 50-60%.

But one strange thing happend last night. After some hours on the same session all sound suddenly dissapared. There only was a small single click upon playback and then no sound. A restart of Pro Tools solved that.

Hopefully just a one time event.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 05-25-2012, 05:50 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Pro Tools HD 10.0.1 crash/freeze on GigaByte EX58-UD3R + W7 sp1 64bit Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
Yes. Also CPU resources seems to have dropped about 10% with 10.2.

My 20+ track 192KHz 32 bit session is running at 30-40%.
Befor 10.2 it was running closer to 50-60%.
Good to hear 10.2 sorted the problems you were having. It seems to be on it's way as they transition to PT 11.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update for Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R users albee1952 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 40 03-26-2012 12:47 AM
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R and hd system dccarson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 10-30-2011 03:45 PM
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R and HD Native + HD Omni ? chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 7 12-01-2010 05:10 PM
Pro tools HD and GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R KKalampo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 04-07-2010 11:26 PM
if you have a Gigabyte EX58-UD3R motherboard please help me. recordingguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-19-2009 09:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com