Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #371  
Old 04-26-2012, 01:08 PM
jimmyl jimmyl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 114
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

Same problem here, worked fine for a year then smack, no audio playback, not even from previously recorded sessions, no play back whatsoever....wtf?
__________________
When I die, I want to go like my Grandpa did, quietly in his sleep and not like the screaming passenger on the back of his motorcycle!

Reply With Quote
  #372  
Old 04-30-2012, 07:02 AM
LizS LizS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bucks
Posts: 16
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

I having been having the same problem as others but I think I worked it out...

I've been working in a mix then realised there's no BVs. But unlike others I can't even see sound metering. I didn't think I had changed anything in the session but actually I had.
I realised that it's happening right after I insert Filterfreak! So I remove the insert and the sound comes back on the channel it had gone from without having to reboot.

We had similar problems with soundtoys on another LE 9 system and had to stop using it. On our HD 9 rig no such problem as yet. So it could just be my PT10 that's doing it.
Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #373  
Old 05-02-2012, 10:14 AM
fradge fradge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: van nuys, ca, us
Posts: 7
Angry Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

This has been an ongoing issue and happens on all (17) of our ProTools HD systems. This is a major bug and with session with 100+ tracks stuff slips through the cracks. If you don't quit and restart after every import you run the risk of tracks not playing. So we do it as a matter of course. What a pain in the..........
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old 05-08-2012, 03:47 PM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 228
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

I did update to 10.1.3 and the issue is still there. but a bit different than before.
Before I could work fine if I didn't change my track layout by adding or removing tracks.
Now it happens out of the blue and I could only get the tracks back with a restart of ProTools or by deactivating and activating the track.
In another session it wouldn't come back at all, so I had to delete the i/o path and setup a new one.
in both cases on 5.1 tracks/paths and the meters didn't show signal
Maybe interesting for the engineering department:
in both affected sessions the track next to the faulty one would load with a "not enough DSP" warning and a plugin was inactive. (there's plenty of DSP available and it was fine when I saved the session) by de- and reactivating that track the plugin was there again) DSP cache was off.
This is so annoying...
Could someone with HDX and 10.1.3 share their experience?
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #375  
Old 05-08-2012, 04:39 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 966
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

This is really strange 'cause since the 10.1.1 update it never happened again on my system !
Also 10.1.3. is working okay here - no problems at all.

Might it be related to a specific kind of setup ?
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #376  
Old 05-09-2012, 02:24 AM
Felix Rost Felix Rost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 559
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

I had it only once (and noticed). I had just checked if I get the crash after changing to buffer 1024, got the crash ;-) and restarted...then one of my tracks stopped playback and I had to disable/re-enable the output bus.
stable 10.6.8/ PT 10.1.1 here since many weeks
Reply With Quote
  #377  
Old 05-09-2012, 05:51 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 228
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

Servus Hanswurstlsepp,

are you also using 5.1 setups? and no issues so far?
maybe I should go back to 10.6.8.
I have 10.7.3
I'll try to reproduce the error. it was somehow related to a change in Playback Engine and a drag'n'drop from an Elastic Track to a standard track.
thanks for the reply. good to hear there are people working along without problems...

titus
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2018.12, OS 10.12.6, S3, Transport, (EuCon 19.5.1.44)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 5.97, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2018.12 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #378  
Old 05-09-2012, 06:11 AM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 966
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

Quote:
Originally Posted by made View Post
Servus Hanswurstlsepp,

are you also using 5.1 setups? and no issues so far?
maybe I should go back to 10.6.8.
I have 10.7.3
I'll try to reproduce the error. it was somehow related to a change in Playback Engine and a drag'n'drop from an Elastic Track to a standard track.
thanks for the reply. good to hear there are people working along without problems...

titus
Moin Titus,

no - I'm using stereo only (unfortunately).
... I wish I could ...
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #379  
Old 05-09-2012, 07:25 AM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

The standard "outputs disable" bug is completely gone in P Tools 10.1.3 HD 6 running 10.7.3. I do get the occasional total loss of audio playback after switching between numerous sessions. A session restart solves this issue but I don't think that this has anything to do with the previous issue. I am only doing stereo sessions though.
Reply With Quote
  #380  
Old 05-14-2012, 08:54 AM
TM Audio TM Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 1
Default Re: Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disable

When this happens to me, it is usually on the top track of the sequence. So that is usually Voice Over, or Sound Bites for me.

I have found that just momentarily scrubbing the audio on that track "Wakes it up" every time.

Stange issue, but no need to retart the session. Just scares me when I'm tagging 40 versions of a TV spot and all of a sudden the Voice is gone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio tracks stop playing back/outputs disabled in PT 9.0.6 mingojr macOS 0 08-12-2013 05:25 PM
Recorded audio is not playing back in sync with other tracks ATLracing Getting Started 4 07-08-2013 05:52 PM
Those getting "audio tracks stop playback/outputs disable" Questions? crizdee macOS 15 09-25-2012 08:10 AM
Tracks Stop Playing Back 7.2.1cs1 tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-21-2006 01:36 PM
some of my vocal audio tracks not playing back...help superdood Tips & Tricks 8 03-24-2003 02:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com