Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2009, 01:22 PM
PhilLewis01 PhilLewis01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Default Which workstation is the best to go with?

Im looking to buy a new computer, something that can run steinberg Nuendo, and protools. So far, I've bought the vst-rtas adapter, Komplete, the mbox2, and a couple more ewql plugins (got a great deal on them).

I dont want to sound like I'm flat out crazy, but I want to buy something that can handle me running tons of sounds from battery, instances of fm8, 3 instances of hypersonic 2, and lots of instances of east west rock ministry, all while my buffer will be normally set at 256 without pops and clicks.

Now here is where I need some help. I dont know if I should get a MacPro 8 core 2.26hz, or a custom pc, (specs below). I know the Mac will be able to run pro tools, but I dont know if the pc below will do a good job of what I want. Also, should I get the windows xp, or would it be better to use tinyxp, (i dont know where the drivers would be however for the pc below).

Extra Case Fan Upgrade: Default case fans
POWER SUPPLY Upgrade: 500 Watts Power Supplies (**Recommended** WIN-500XSPX APEVIA 500W JAVA Power Supply-Black)
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-975 Extreme Edition 3.33 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
COOLING FAN : Intel LGA1366 Certified CPU Fan & Heatsink
MOTHERBOARD: (3-Way SLI Support) EVGA X58 SLI Classfied Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX DDR3 Mainboard w/GbLAN, USB2.0, IEEE1394a, &7.1Audio MEMORY: 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3/1800MHz Triple Channel Memory Module (Corsair Dominator)
VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 16X PCI Express (EVGA Powered by NVIDIA)
VIDEO CARD 2: None
VIDEO CARD 3: None
MULTIPLE VIDEO CARD SETTINGS: Non-SLI/Non-CrossFireX Mode Supports Multiple Monitors
LCD Monitor: NONE
2nd Monitor: NONE
HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (1TB (1TBx1) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD)
Data Hard Drive: 1TB (1TBx1) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM Hard Drive Optical Drive: Sony 20X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive (BLACK COLOR)
Optical Drive 2: NONE SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO
NETWORK: Onboard Gigabit LAN Network
MODEM: NONE
KEYBOARD: Microsoft® Wireless Desktop w/ Wireless Internet Keyboard & Mouse
MOUSE: XtremeGear Optical USB 3 Buttons Gaming Mouse
Extra Thermal Display : NONE
Wireless 802.11B/G Network Card: NONE
IEEE CARD: NONE
USB PORT: Built-in USB 2.0 Ports
OS: NONE - FORMAT HARD DRIVE ONLY
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2009, 01:31 PM
CreativeMo CreativeMo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

I think the mobo can be an issue, Pro Tools runs only smooth on ASUS mobo's . Your PSU should be 600 watt instead of 500 watt. lol this newby is learning quick aha.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2009, 01:45 PM
PhilLewis01 PhilLewis01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

What about this mobo, its about a $100 cheaper:

(Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX Mainboard SAS Triple-Channel DDR3/1600 SATA w/ eSATA,Dual GbLAN,USB2.0,IEEE1394a,&7.1Audio)

and this psu:

Thermaltake ToughPower 600 Watt Power Supply - Quad SLI Ready

I didnt know I needed a 600 psu. Will that make my light bill go up?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2009, 01:52 PM
CreativeMo CreativeMo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

Phil I cant handle this, these lovely people in DUC advised me the same thing, you'll have to wait for someone else.

Sorry
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2009, 06:09 PM
PhilLewis01 PhilLewis01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

Now I did a sandra report on a workstation of a friend, and his machine runs pretty smooth. I'm thinking I can build something better than this though

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz
Speed : 2.67GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Internal Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, Inclusive, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Inclusive, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
System
System :
Platform Compliance : Intel vPro
Mainboard : Intel Corporation DQ45CB
Bus(es) : PCI USB FireWire/1394
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : No
System BIOS : Intel Corp. 255.255
Total Memory : 2.96GB
Chipset 1
Model : Intel ??? (2E10)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)
Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : Intel(R) Q45/Q43 Express Chipset
Adapter : Intel(R) Q45/Q43 Express Chipset
Physical Storage Devices
WDC WD10EACS-00D6B0 1000GB (SATA300, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 931.51GB (C:)
WDC WD10EACS-00D6B0 1000GB (SATA300, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 931.51GB (E:)
ATAPI iHAS220 6 (SATA150, 126x CD-R, 126x CD-W, 16x DVD-R, 16x DVD-W, 2MB Cache) : 4.21GB (D:)
Logical Storage Devices
System (C:) : 917.99GB (894.45GB, 97% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EACS-00D6B0 1000GB (SATA300, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Audio-1 (E:) : 931.51GB (931.37GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD10EACS-00D6B0 1000GB (SATA300, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Disc (D:) : 4.21GB (UDF) @ ATAPI iHAS220 6 (SATA150, 126x CD-R, 126x CD-W, 16x DVD-R, 16x DVD-W, 2MB Cache)
Removable Drive (F:) : 15.05GB (75.42MB, 0% Free Space) (FAT32) @
Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 2 COM / 0 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A64
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A65
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A66
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A67
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A68
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 3A69
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Enhanced Host Controller - 3A6A
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH10 Family USB Enhanced Host Controller - 3A6C
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Mouse : USB Touchscreen Controller(Universal)
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device
Printers and Faxes
Model : Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP (2002) Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : Win32 x86
Network Services
Adapter : Intel(R) 82567LM-3 Gigabit Network Connection
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2009, 09:53 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,746
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

intel i7 on the Asus board should be excellent(the 920 is fairly priced and a good overclocker). My Gigabyte board is a good second choice. Skip the big honkin' video card and go with a 256 meg ATI card. Skip the monster hard drive for system and go with something in the 160-300 gig size(and buy 2 so you can keep a cloned system drive at the ready. Add a third hard drive for loading your samples to.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2009, 02:13 PM
CreativeMo CreativeMo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
intel i7 on the Asus board should be excellent(the 920 is fairly priced and a good overclocker). My Gigabyte board is a good second choice. Skip the big honkin' video card and go with a 256 meg ATI card. Skip the monster hard drive for system and go with something in the 160-300 gig size(and buy 2 so you can keep a cloned system drive at the ready. Add a third hard drive for loading your samples to.
I think you can help me Albee, basicly I wanna build a computer and this what ive got so far.

Processor
Intel Core i7 920 "D0 Stepping" 2.66Ghz (Nehalem) (Socket LGA1366) - Retail
£181.99

MOBO[
Asus P6T SE Intel X58 (Socket 1366) PCI-Express DDR3 Motherboard
£143.74

PSU
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Modular Power Supply
£59.99

RAM
G.Skill NQ 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Triple Channel Kit
£68.99


Graphics
Novatech GeForce 9500GT SLI 1GB GDDR2 DVI/HDMI PCI-Express - Retail with PhysX & CUDA

£37.16 £37.16


Sound
Novatech 7.1 Channel CMI Audio PCI Sound Card

£10.99 £10.99

Case
Antec Three Hundred Case - Black - No Psu

£40.96 £40.96

Hardrive 1 GIG or less ??

Disk Drive
Samsung S222A 22x DVD+/-RW 8x Dual Layer DVD-RAM IDE Black - OEM

£14.73 £14.73

OS WINDOWS VISTA 32 BIT OR 64 BIT?

Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 2000 USB


Is the computer good ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2009, 02:22 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

not polite to intrude on others' thread. i'll answer you in your i7 post
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2009, 02:28 PM
GordonFreeman GordonFreeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: In Hell
Posts: 455
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

Are EVGA Motherboards known to work with Pro Tools? If not, get an Asus / Gigabyte, just to be sure.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2009, 02:32 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,905
Default Re: Which workstation is the best to go with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhilLewis01 View Post
Im looking to buy a new computer, something that can run steinberg Nuendo, and protools. So far, I've bought the vst-rtas adapter, Komplete, the mbox2, and a couple more ewql plugins (got a great deal on them).

I dont want to sound like I'm flat out crazy, but I want to buy something that can handle me running tons of sounds from battery, instances of fm8, 3 instances of hypersonic 2, and lots of instances of east west rock ministry, all while my buffer will be normally set at 256 without pops and clicks.

Now here is where I need some help. I dont know if I should get a MacPro 8 core 2.26hz, or a custom pc, (specs below). I know the Mac will be able to run pro tools, but I dont know if the pc below will do a good job of what I want. Also, should I get the windows xp, or would it be better to use tinyxp, (i dont know where the drivers would be however for the pc below).

Extra Case Fan Upgrade: Default case fans
POWER SUPPLY Upgrade: 500 Watts Power Supplies (**Recommended** WIN-500XSPX APEVIA 500W JAVA Power Supply-Black)
CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-975 Extreme Edition 3.33 GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366
COOLING FAN : Intel LGA1366 Certified CPU Fan & Heatsink
MOTHERBOARD: (3-Way SLI Support) EVGA X58 SLI Classfied Intel X58 Chipset SLI/CrossFireX DDR3 Mainboard w/GbLAN, USB2.0, IEEE1394a, &7.1Audio MEMORY: 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3/1800MHz Triple Channel Memory Module (Corsair Dominator)
VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 16X PCI Express (EVGA Powered by NVIDIA)
VIDEO CARD 2: None
VIDEO CARD 3: None
MULTIPLE VIDEO CARD SETTINGS: Non-SLI/Non-CrossFireX Mode Supports Multiple Monitors
LCD Monitor: NONE
2nd Monitor: NONE
HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (1TB (1TBx1) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD)
Data Hard Drive: 1TB (1TBx1) SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM Hard Drive Optical Drive: Sony 20X Double Layer Dual Format DVD+-R/+-RW + CD-R/RW Drive (BLACK COLOR)
Optical Drive 2: NONE SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO
NETWORK: Onboard Gigabit LAN Network
MODEM: NONE
KEYBOARD: Microsoft® Wireless Desktop w/ Wireless Internet Keyboard & Mouse
MOUSE: XtremeGear Optical USB 3 Buttons Gaming Mouse
Extra Thermal Display : NONE
Wireless 802.11B/G Network Card: NONE
IEEE CARD: NONE
USB PORT: Built-in USB 2.0 Ports
OS: NONE - FORMAT HARD DRIVE ONLY
Please do yourself a favor. Go to the i7 thread and select a known working system to emulate.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UVI workstation rossi68 Pro Tools 9 0 04-21-2011 03:22 AM
UVI workstation anyone? Khatru Virtual Instruments 3 03-17-2010 06:38 PM
Mbox ok for Mac Workstation? FINKSTONE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-06-2007 10:12 AM
MAC, PC or Workstation? Ricky Ricardo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-13-2001 05:17 PM
workstation/furniture? jeffpeff General Discussion 2 03-15-2000 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com