Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-02-2016, 12:12 PM
HLD HLD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 79
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

At this point, I don't see any "superior" product over the S3L if you take portability into the equation. However, there are alternatives. Digico do make good consoles that are indeed portable. But I have not seen any real competitor I'm afraid. For what it does, the S3L is a very good product. If Avid really do drop it, like it seems to me, it's a real shame.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-02-2016, 12:33 PM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 339
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Unless we start seeing some more plugins like Soundtoys, waves, etc or new offerings become available, as well as additional DSP availability products like the Midas M32 (stage boxes, m32c, Behringer control surface) are definitely competition to the S3L. Mackie Axis Modular system could be a competitor for certain individuals.... And both have plenty of iPad support. The front end for the S3L is not leaps and bounds approve the competition.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-03-2016, 01:07 AM
Davoetta Davoetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Austria
Posts: 139
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Yes, but u also have to see the price point of the competitors!
They are not even half the price of an S3L System.

It`s a shame that there is no visible sign of development for the S3L anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-03-2016, 02:38 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 260
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielR View Post
and lack of Windows AVB driver so would have to buy (and work) into Apple gear.
This is rather a Microsoft problem. What Apple did was
- they intentionally made all new Macs AVB-compatible (network cards have timestamping support required for AVB)
- they provided kernel support for these AVB features of network cards
- they provided CoreAudio support for AVB audio, i.e. integrated AVB support into Mac's sound system.
- they provided GUI to connect streams.

First thing in this list is a HW - you can buy that.
Second thing AFAIK is done in Windows 10.
But third and fourth are to be done by Microsoft to match what Apple has.

Nothing on Avid side.

P.S. AFAIK there was a 3-rd party company who offered AVB solution for Windows.

P.P.S. This one: http://echoavb.com/products/streamware-nic-1. Not sure if it will work.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-03-2016, 02:45 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

How often would you like to see software releases for consoles?

It's been one year since the last S3L update, during which an entire other console family was released, and updated a few times...
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-03-2016, 02:46 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Audio Science also has a Windows AVB driver.
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-03-2016, 03:38 AM
DanielR DanielR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 23
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanJ View Post
Audio Science also has a Windows AVB driver.
And this one works fine with 64x64 I/O on the Pro Tools license delivered with S3L? How about the Streamware one? Both claim to present a 64x64 ASIO device to the system.

Both not really usable with a laptop or small form factor box like a NUC though as the Streamware is bundled with a PCIe NIC (at $800!) and the second one works only with an Intel I210 PCIe NIC.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-03-2016, 03:45 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 260
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielR View Post
And this one works fine with 64x64 I/O on the Pro Tools license delivered with S3L?
Good question, actually.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-03-2016, 09:21 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielR View Post
And this one works fine with 64x64 I/O on the Pro Tools license delivered with S3L? How about the Streamware one? Both claim to present a 64x64 ASIO device to the system..
Not sure, but feel free to give it a shot. I'll have the Audio Science driver this week, along with their AVB conversion box, so I'll be checking it out to see how well it plays.

Truth is, anyone can make AAX-DSP plugins, and anyone can make AVB compliant products, we qualify with a higher standard than most, and subsequently there may be plenty of products that work well with ours that we simply haven't qualified just due to availability, time, or physical resources. It's a huge endeavor to qualify everything that's out there, but we're trying to get through as much of it as we can, as fast as we can.
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-03-2016, 10:58 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 247
Default Re: S3L Plugin count

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanJ View Post
How often would you like to see software releases for consoles?

It's been one year since the last S3L update, during which an entire other console family was released, and updated a few times...
Ryan: it is not about the amount or the timing of updates, it's all about communication.
In the world we live in today telling close to nothing like avid does compares to ignoring the customer and not supporting the customer.

It's about a feeling there is that could easily be changed with a statement pro S3L.

It could have been as simple as saying last year after the update: "dear customer, thanks for your purchase, due to limited resources and our planned release of the S6 there will be a short break in updates for the s3L.
As soon as the new system is out we will continue the development of your system."

Just as the statement you just made about AVB

Thanks for that :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide/Count Plugin z1221 Virtual Instruments 2 12-12-2013 03:18 PM
Plugin Count at 96kh....help please psus15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-07-2004 08:42 AM
IS MORE RAM REALLY GONNA HELP MY PLUGIN COUNT? el matador 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-12-2002 07:33 PM
Mbox Plugin count Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-21-2002 05:19 PM
Plugin count jfk-studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-09-2002 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com