Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > RTAS & TDM Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2013, 08:14 AM
Jmmergens Jmmergens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pierce County Wa
Posts: 15
Default Multiband Compressors

Hi all,

Does anyone have a suggestions for a halfway decent RTAS muliband compressor freeware? I'm a hobiest so I don't want to spend too much money before I get a chance to experiment with multiband compression. If there isn't a good free multiband compressor (which seems to be the case from my searching) is it worth it to just get FX expansion and start wrapping the millions of free VST plug ins? Or do I really need to just suck it up and spend some extra money on RTAS plug ins?

Any advice is appreciated!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2013, 10:27 AM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Multiband Compressors

I haven't seen any free RTAS MB Comps.

Creating one is free and allows you to use any compressor and EQ you already have.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2013, 11:54 AM
BohoProAudio BohoProAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 39
Default Re: Multiband Compressors

I use bus pass filters into compreesion all the time, especially for mastering. It can use up more of you processing power, but you generally get more control, plus you can do it with your favorite compressors instead of being limited to what multiband comps you have.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2013, 01:32 PM
Jmmergens Jmmergens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pierce County Wa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Multiband Compressors

I'll give it a shot, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2013, 04:19 PM
BohoProAudio BohoProAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 39
Default Re: Multiband Compressors

Good luck! I would say that unless you're mastering, or mix mastering, you won't need 4 bands. I usually stick with hi and lo pass, and that's enough for most sources. If you plan on getting deeper into mixing, you're going to want to invest in a good compression plugin sooner or later. By far the most useful and versatile type of plug that you will ever buy. I use McDSP's 6030, which has ten or so compressor plugins that work for almost any situation. If you want a good free(and very simple) pass filter EQ, try the Bluecat free plugin suite. Lots of good stuff in there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiband hardware compressors? musicman691 General Discussion 7 01-21-2014 12:54 PM
Multiband de-esser or Compressors? skylab001 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-28-2011 06:49 AM
Multiband Compressor danika Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 07-11-2005 12:49 PM
Multiband compressors .... basic junior mastering Alécio Costa Tips & Tricks 1 07-26-2004 01:12 AM
Multiband Processors Punx Tips & Tricks 2 08-23-2002 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com