Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #191  
Old 06-03-2019, 12:39 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Kevin,

great job! AppleScript being slow here and there is a normal issue, especially with PT. I wouldn't worry too much.

And great to see someone finally contributing to this thread again. 😉


Oliver


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Peters View Post
To improve upon my post above, I looked through the UI elements of the Track List again, and it turns out that the rows (tracks) in the "Track List" table have a parameter called "Selected" that has a true or false value. Using this new information here is my updated script for 2019.5:

Code:
tell application "System Events"
	
	if exists (process "Pro Tools") then
		
		tell process "Pro Tools"
			
			tell (1st window whose title contains "Edit: ")
				
				set selectedTrack to title of button of UI element 2 of (1st row of table "Track List" whose selected is true)
				
				set formattedString to text of selectedTrack as string
				set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "Selected. "
				set theTextItems to every text item of formattedString
				set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ""
				set formattedString to theTextItems as string
				
				click button "Output Window button" of group "Audio IO" of group formattedString
				
			end tell
		end tell
	end if
end tell
This dramatically increases the speed of the script, although there still is a 1/2 second to 1 second delay in really big sessions with hundreds of tracks. That being said in a small session it's a very short delay. I wonder if there is still a way to speed it up. I got rid of the safety check on the button so save a split second.

Using this script you can change it to open any of the visible inserts, sends, and other buttons on the track.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 06-12-2019, 06:06 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 114
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hi guys,

i´m curious if there was any update to the scripts V1 and V2 for HighSierra/2019.5? V2 was the last scripts i downloaded but a lot of the scripts like e.g. "snap clip to next clip" doenst work anymore since i upgraded to 10.13.6 and 2019.5.

Best and thx for help,
René
---
www.innenhofstudios.at
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:21 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hey René,

I haven't updated them in a while but the script you mentioned still works for me.
Same OS and PT versions.


Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
Hi guys,

i´m curious if there was any update to the scripts V1 and V2 for HighSierra/2019.5? V2 was the last scripts i downloaded but a lot of the scripts like e.g. "snap clip to next clip" doenst work anymore since i upgraded to 10.13.6 and 2019.5.

Best and thx for help,
René
---
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 06-17-2019, 08:27 AM
innenhofstudios innenhofstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 114
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
Hey René,

I haven't updated them in a while but the script you mentioned still works for me.
Same OS and PT versions.
great to hear. so the mistake must be somewhere else. maybe in different languages as i use PT in German...
__________________
www.innenhofstudios.at
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 06-17-2019, 09:37 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by innenhofstudios View Post
great to hear. so the mistake must be somewhere else. maybe in different languages as i use PT in German...
Could be. It has been documented in one of my PDFs that running PT in english is mandatory. Some scripts may run regardless of the language but most won't. Its because most PT menus are accessed by their name, not index.

A few years back I was thinking about adding support for other languages but thats a lot of work as I would have to incorporate Localized Strings. And then I would need to support all kinds of combinations for different languages of macOS and PT. All this is too much work for freeware.

Last edited by Oliver M; 06-17-2019 at 12:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 07-19-2019, 11:55 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

I have one request:

Lately I am receiving quite a few private messages from users with personal issues seeking for AppleScript help.
The intention of this thread is to help each other.

It is no shame to post about an issue. I am sure there are lots of talented ppl around who can help, the number of users having read this thread suggests this.

The chance to get help from someone is bigger by posting your issue here within this thread rather than messaging me privately as my time to help others is pretty much limited.
Please, respect this.

Thank you.


Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 07-24-2019, 11:27 AM
John Roberts John Roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Soundbyte Studios
Posts: 6
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hi, this looks really interesting, however when I download the package it seems incomplete. The extras folder contains one apple script template but no macros to import to KM. Is there anyone that can explain what I might be doing wrong? would love to experiment with these and try to learn more about macros for speed.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 07-24-2019, 02:09 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Roberts View Post
Hi, this looks really interesting, however when I download the package it seems incomplete. The extras folder contains one apple script template but no macros to import to KM. Is there anyone that can explain what I might be doing wrong? would love to experiment with these and try to learn more about macros for speed.

thanks
John,

have you actually read the PDF that comes with the installer?
You basically just run the installer and then execute one of the AppleScripts via KM.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 07-24-2019, 02:19 PM
John Roberts John Roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Soundbyte Studios
Posts: 6
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
John,

have you actually read the PDF that comes with the installer?
You basically just run the installer and then execute one of the AppleScripts via KM.
yes. I must be missing a step. the PDF states,

All scripts get installed in ~/Library/Scripts/Applications/Pro Tools and can be executed from applications like FastScripts or Keyboard Maestro.

Also your original post states:

Macros for all scripts are included and ready to be used with Keyboard Maestro,
they can be found in the Extras folder of the Disk Image from where they can be
imported. Users of FastScripts open its Preferences/Script Shortcuts section and
add a shortcut to each script.


I am not able to find those Macros. Obviously I am missing something basic.
but please understand.. I am very new to all of this, and just looking for clues on how it's done so I can learn and eventually start creating.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 07-25-2019, 01:39 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,103
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Here's a Keyboard Maestro Macro Group to get you started.

Oliver's Pro Tools Macro Group

Keep in mind that these are macros that just trigger the AppleScripts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12 Trim Automation [email protected] Pro Tools 12 2 08-16-2015 04:25 AM
Pro Tools 11.2.1 Automation Bug?! Gneal550 Pro Tools 11 1 11-22-2014 01:15 PM
GRM tools automation bug? D'Animation Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-08-2014 08:21 AM
scripting Pro Tools; automation Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-01-2004 12:38 PM
AppleScripts and other Macros for PT Bergeron Tips & Tricks 1 11-15-1999 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com