Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2019, 12:02 PM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 32
Default Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

Hi all !

Moved from mac to windows, and I miss the feature in OSX to have the different pro tools windows on different virtual desktops, and conveniently three-finger-swipe between them.

I can four-finger-swipe between desktops on my PC, but it seems all PT-windows needs to stay on one and the same virtual desktop, unlike MAC where PT-windows can be distributed over several virtual desktops

Anyone knows how to spread PT-windows over several desktops in windows?
Any utility sw to 'macify' ?

Things are working fine here, but miss the convenience of distributing the pt-windows over desktops, and just swipe between them. Not a burning issue.

/FZZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2019, 02:39 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 249
Default Re: Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

Only way I know of is to have 2 screens and expand the PT window across both, then put edit on one, mix on the other. Don't think it can be done with 1 screen and swiping
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2019, 04:44 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,150
Default Re: Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

Search for Skooch. Not sure if it's still available.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2019, 07:05 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,167
Default Re: Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

This is a common complaint and apparently not one that is easily fixed (or maybe being ignored).
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2019, 01:49 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 32
Default Re: Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

Ok
Thx for your replies.
Skooched internet. Found nothing.
Two-screens... well perhaps some day.
I'll settle for what is for the time beeing
/T

Skickat från min Moto G (5) via Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2019, 02:41 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 604
Default Re: Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

If you just want to switch between the Edit and Mix pages, Ctrl + = in Windows and Command + = on Mac.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 431.86- 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.1 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2019, 03:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,863
Default Re: Edit & Mix windows on different desktops á la MAC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzoboy View Post
If you just want to switch between the Edit and Mix pages, Ctrl + = in Windows and Command + = on Mac.
That^^^ is one option. Another is the old(not sure about the new version) Presonus Faderport as it has buttons to select MIX or EDIT(one button is actually labelled "Proj"). 2 screens works just fine with the proper setup. Open Pro Tools but don't open a session yet. With PT NOT maximized, grab the edges of the main PT window and drag them to fill both screens(works for side by side, or over & under). Now open a session and drag each window(MIX and EDIT) onto the screens you want them on. Once they are on the proper screen, maximize the windows(NOT the main PT window). Hit Alt-F4 to save and close. Things should come back up the same when you re-open. Sessions that were saved otherwise may need to have things dragged into proper layout, but it should settle into coming up correctly.

Using screens with the same resolution works better than mixed resolution
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit & Mix Windows leinadoy Foro en Español 3 09-05-2016 08:29 AM
Windows PT LE: Need help deciding between 2 desktops PLEASE!! brazileiro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-09-2010 11:40 AM
resizing Edit and Mix windows in OSX??? JBz Tips & Tricks 1 06-17-2006 04:49 PM
How come the edit/mix windows don't stay put?? Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2004 01:23 AM
edit & mix windows michbouff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-20-2000 12:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com