Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-09-2013, 08:56 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
Does anyone know if other DAWs do up to 150x realtime?
The 150 number is pretty meaningless since it's going to depend on how complex the session is and how much processing, as well as how fast the computer and hard drives are. Obviously with an "up to" some sessions aren't going to bounce that fast while I'd think that with a fast enough computer, I don't know why there would be an upper limit.

I'm sure Avid wants to give the impression that they're super fast, whether the competition is just as fast or not.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

"UP TO" something is meaningless; what is important is that beginning with PT11 the system is not constrained by TDM/RTAS architecture which means realtime processing. If you can do a 45 minute TV show in 5 minutes, you probably won't be mad about "only 9X" improvement, will you?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:38 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
"UP TO" something is meaningless
That's what I just said.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:43 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike connelly View Post
That's what I just said.
Yes, and we are not in any way disagreeing :) It's just that I myself am kind of fed up with the marketing language where things look like they're out of this world...

In reality though, I would be happy if I could bounce a 45 minute TV show in 5 minutes which would allow me to brew a cup of coffee and then listen to what I just did
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:52 AM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 528
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
For True audio quality you have to bounce real time it's the only way to do it

;^)
They're saying that either way should null. I'm sure plenty of people will test and share results.
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:26 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike connelly View Post
The 150 number is pretty meaningless since it's going to depend on how complex the session is and how much processing, as well as how fast the computer and hard drives are. Obviously with an "up to" some sessions aren't going to bounce that fast while I'd think that with a fast enough computer, I don't know why there would be an upper limit.

I'm sure Avid wants to give the impression that they're super fast, whether the competition is just as fast or not.
It's not meaningless. It's meant to show the upper limit of the speed, which is EXACTLY the point of the number. Of course it's tied to the complexity of the session.

If you make an hour long radio show, with a few stereo tracks and some dialog tracks, and it outputs in a minute and is sample accurate, then the number actually means something.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:33 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
It's not meaningless. It's meant to show the upper limit of the speed, which is EXACTLY the point of the number.
But why would such an upper limit even exist? If new computers come out that are ten times faster, the bounce is still going to max out at 150x? Bringing up a number at all just seems like marketingspeak.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-09-2013, 11:55 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike connelly View Post
But why would such an upper limit even exist? If new computers come out that are ten times faster, the bounce is still going to max out at 150x? Bringing up a number at all just seems like marketingspeak.
It's just called information. To give you some indication as to how fast it will be. When computers are faster, they'll update it!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-09-2013, 12:13 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
They're saying that either way should null. I'm sure plenty of people will test and share results.
I'm just trying to stir up the air here !!! I'm sure it won't matter and it might have problems initially but it will probably be sonically the same
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-11-2013, 01:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: PT 10 offline or 'fast bounce'?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
you can do 1 and 2 easily using busses and recording to a mix track at the same time
Exactly, this is what I've been doing for years when I mix a live gig :) Just buss everything to a stereo audio track and feed that to the outputs. It also gives me (as someone who does a lot of live gigs) possibility to add some additional mics to the mixer, which do not go to the music mix but straight to the outputs.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
offline bounce different than realtime bounce grant howarth Pro Tools 11 8 12-08-2013 09:29 PM
OK, but seriously, OFFLINE BOUNCE! Kris75 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 120 04-09-2013 06:55 AM
Offline bounce spyfly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-21-2007 12:50 PM
offline bounce? danielfre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 12-28-2006 02:04 PM
Offline Bounce? bboiii 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-12-2005 02:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com