Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:20 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BGMusic View Post

In other words I hope they help you guys out but I wouldn't hold my breath.
i'm sure everyone appreciates your vote BGM

thanks

+1 on this end.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BGMusic View Post
I hate to rain on your parade, but when Digi EOL'd the mix 24 systems, they left us stuck with PT 6.4.1 which was only approved for OS 10.3.4 a very unstable release of Panther. In order to do anything in Panther you'd need 10.3.9
Let me disagree.

From my perspective, that very 10.3.4 version has been ONE OF THE MOST STABLE OSX VERSIONS EVER (!!) and combined with PT 6.4 it is a combination that makes me wonder whether there's a computer involved or not. Felt very solid!

It was the first OSX version that I could whole-heartedly recommend to other fellow mixing engineers -- before that, it was a disaster.

And because it was so good, I never upgraded to 6.7...6.9 but kept my system at 6.4 until there was a PT7
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-21-2009, 09:15 AM
lownotesinc lownotesinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

+1 Please restore cs updates to 8.0.x PPC users.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-21-2009, 09:22 AM
Jeff D. Jeff D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 805
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

+1
__________________
www.jephthastudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:08 AM
TheHopiWay TheHopiWay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW USA
Posts: 70
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

+1
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:47 AM
AREED AREED is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 143
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

Guess I should join in as well
+1
__________________
10.8.5
PT 10.3.10, HD2, 2x192 i/o
Control 24
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-21-2009, 10:52 AM
muleskinner muleskinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 3
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

+ 1, I'd love the features but I need the fixes
__________________
Matt
www.nightskystudios.org
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-21-2009, 01:36 PM
ledogboy ledogboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 37
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

+1! I own two HD3 rigs, one on an Intel Mac, and one on a PPC. Oh, and an Icon. It would be nice to have a stable version of the software to go with the many tens of thousands of dollars we have invested in Digidesign product. We have considered the crossgrade on our cards, but having been burned on the upgrade path so many times, it is hard to stomach.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12-21-2009, 02:25 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 571
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

+1!

I own a HD7 Accel rig on a PPC, I also invested many tens of thousand of dollars in Digidesign/Avid products. I did the upgrade to PT HD 8 a few weeks ago, I did pay the full price for it, so at least one year of PPC cs releases would only be fair.

And of course the upgrade path to PCIe is ridiculously high, it would cost me +10.000 dollars to gain nothing more but a change of the connector on the cards
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

System 1: Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.13.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate 2018.12 - HD I/O 16x16 - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x3)

System 2: Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.9.5 - Magma PE6R4-I - PT HD 6 Accel PCI - PT HD 10.3.10 - 192D I/O - SYNC I/O
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-21-2009, 02:50 PM
Phil Buckle Phil Buckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 259
Default Re: Digi, Not the features, just the fixes for ppc users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delta Music Belgium View Post
+1!
And of course the upgrade path to PCIe is ridiculously high, it would cost me +10.000 dollars to gain nothing more but a change of the connector on the cards
+1 here. The upgrade price needs a more humane touch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro tools 10HD features for TDM users? Raoul23 Pro Tools 10 3 04-05-2012 12:00 AM
Thank You Digi for 7.3.1 fixes - we want more?! poly915 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-05-2008 12:56 PM
DIGI TechSupt any ETA on Workspace fixes? tonepad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-16-2007 10:40 PM
Digi fixes buss level bug filmixer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-25-2004 12:27 AM
Thanks Digi for the 5.1.1 Import Fixes jdh95 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-11-2001 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com