Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-16-2010, 02:13 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrievousAngel View Post
BTW: What did Brad Lyons just buy in terms of MC control and Avid?

I also have been wondering what the new controller products would be like.

Later,
Billy
Hmm... seems his website is being renovated, and I can't find where he posted the links...But he bought a custom built desk designed to slot in 2 MC Mix's 1 MC Control and 1 Mc Transport. Looks pretty sexy.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2010, 03:08 AM
GrievousAngel GrievousAngel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Statesboro, USA
Posts: 77
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Interesting . . . Thanks.
billy
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-17-2010, 03:20 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Thanks for the compliments STYLE & FUNCTION built this desk, I really like it. You can visit their website here:

http://www.styleandfunction.net/

As to the pictures of my setup, those are here:

http://www.theaudioprofessional.com/...iles/Desk2.jpg
http://www.theaudioprofessional.com/...iles/Desk1.jpg

As to the control surfaces.... the Command8 is at the end of its life, but it's still a great control surface for the right person. Understand it's not upgradeable as in expansion of number of units, so if you want more faders...that's not going to happen. Currently it does more than a Euphonix unit, but that is going to change....however the Euphonix Artist series ARE more money and that is not going to change. There are pros and cons to each, it really comes down to the actual user and their needs/budget.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-17-2010, 10:28 AM
GrievousAngel GrievousAngel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Statesboro, USA
Posts: 77
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Brad, Looks great!

I can't wait to see what influence Avid has on the MC product line!

BTW: Does the present MC drivers interface with PT LE 8.x? if not how long?

Thanks,
__________________
GrievousAngel
Statesboro, USA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-17-2010, 10:33 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Oh they work perfectly fine right now..... I have no beefs with it, and I am VERY picky about stuff.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-17-2010, 12:13 PM
matocaster1202 matocaster1202 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Olympia
Posts: 273
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Quote:
This is a users forum not tech support.
The forum is for troubleshooting, tips, techniques, etc... DIGI/AVID have helped others with support on this forum so I don't see why I can't ask for help too.

If you have any suggestions on how I can get my C8 to work I'd love to hear it.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 10 & 11
Profire 2626/Focusrite
Octopre MKII
Mackie Control Universal Pro
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600

Intel MB P35 Express Chipset 1333Mhz FSB
Memory: 32GB DDR3-800
OS:Windows 7 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-30-2010, 06:15 AM
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Worth buying a Command 8 now?

Quote:
Originally Posted by matocaster1202 View Post
The forum is for troubleshooting, tips, techniques, etc... DIGI/AVID have helped others with support on this forum so I don't see why I can't ask for help too.

If you have any suggestions on how I can get my C8 to work I'd love to hear it.
You say you have been trying to get them to respond to a thread on here for 6 months.

Why do you feel that makes more sense than contacting tech support directly if you have a real problem?
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it worth me buying a used mac? Mixmaster76 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 10-21-2009 03:59 PM
Is it worth buying 'boutique' mic pre if only used for 003? Che_Guitarra 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-30-2007 03:24 PM
Rode K2, would it be worth buying a 2k+ preamp??? Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-25-2004 12:19 AM
Is Amplitube worth buying? Kirby B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 03-23-2004 03:42 PM
001 worth buying at all now? rascalmanny 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-18-2003 07:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com