Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-06-2006, 07:23 AM

Default Save Session Copy Issue.

Save Session Copy is not behaving like i think it used to for me today. i have a live show (36 658mb files) i have a master session with the whole show. i have sessions for each song i'm doing. (i'm not mixing them all) i'm now done and want to keep the songs i did here in case they ever need to be revisited and send the hard drive back to warners. so i open my song session, select unused and remove, and do a save copy. PT wants to copy all the big files instead of what i'm used to, copying only the parts this session needs. make sense? am i doing something wrong? i've done this thousands of times it seems.
drew

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Old 01-06-2006, 08:41 AM

Default Re: Save Session Copy Issue.

If unused regions are part of the big files but other used ones are part of the same big file, it won't be deleted. Your should remove unused regions, then select all regions left in your region list, then "compact selected" and put a good amount of "handle" (5,000 m/sec at least) then execute the command. But be careful, this is undoable

When this is done in your master session, it will be ok BUT if your other sessions are separate sessions(made after doing this) from your master session, there will be missing files while opening those sessions because they are referred(linked) to your master session.

You should have done this to your master session prior to making other sessions (if it is the way you've done them)

Sorry if the explanation seems unclear, english is not my language.
Old 01-06-2006, 08:59 AM