Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-11-2017, 04:59 PM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 127
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonyeah View Post
Waou!!!! I just did the whole process with a second hand d command I bought more than 1 year ago that, despite standard cleaning, had still faders problems. And now all gone ! Perfect just like new ! Many many thanks for this advice !



Envoyé de mon iPhone en utilisant Tapatalk


Great to hear that!
After this procedure they really feel like new.
I'm still fascinated that I didn't have to replace them all because, they just needed lubrication and cleaning.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-15-2017, 11:47 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 923
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watagushu2013 View Post
First clean them with a q tip removing all the dust in them. Then you can lubricate them with a silicon lubricant only in the metal parts and guides.
I cleaned mine this past weekend. I found that a q-tip was a bit too wide to get all the way down into the track. Are you able to get the q-tip all the way down there? I ended up improvising, but would love to do it again with a more solid technique. Really, a pretty simple procedure compared to replacing the faders it seems.
__________________
@wildhoneymusic
http://razorandtiemusicpublishing.co.../gary-philips/
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-15-2017, 01:28 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,131
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Did you guys remove the fader entirely? Or was the qtip applied thru the surface housing?
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 8 Core E5-2687W 3.1ghz
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - Keith Richards
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-15-2017, 01:32 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 923
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Did you guys remove the fader entirely? Or was the qtip applied thru the surface housing?
for me, removed entirely -- wiring still intact. the qtip gets through the first area but is too wide to get all the way down to the bottom of the cavity in the fader.
__________________
@wildhoneymusic
http://razorandtiemusicpublishing.co.../gary-philips/
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-16-2017, 09:21 AM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 127
Default Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Sorry for the confusion.
Yo have to take the fader out and pull gently the connectors on the board.
Next you have to de assemble the protective casing of the fader with a little flat screw on top of it. There are little hinges that attach to the fader housing.
Next, with the fader open, you can start to clean it first for any dust that's in there and then try to lubricate the metal parts and guides with a little of silicon lubricant. Watch for the electronic guides that are in the bottom (the electronic board) because you don't want to lubricate them.
When your done, put the protective case again on the fader body and snap it to close it and insert again in the board.
Hope this helps.

Cheers



Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-16-2017, 11:20 AM
WildHoney WildHoney is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 923
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Super helpful photos, thank you.
I noticed that there are two soldered connections on the fader. Are you saying those soldered connections stay in place and you're removing the fader entirely by disconnecting the end that's attached to a circuit board inside the D-Command?
And then once it's free of the unit, then you're opening up the fader housing itself and doing the cleaning?
__________________
@wildhoneymusic
http://razorandtiemusicpublishing.co.../gary-philips/
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-16-2017, 01:30 PM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 127
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildHoney View Post
Super helpful photos, thank you.

I noticed that there are two soldered connections on the fader. Are you saying those soldered connections stay in place and you're removing the fader entirely by disconnecting the end that's attached to a circuit board inside the D-Command?

And then once it's free of the unit, then you're opening up the fader housing itself and doing the cleaning?


Yes exactly that.
You have to pull out the connector from the d command gently and put it in to place after the cleaning.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-16-2017, 03:55 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 923
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watagushu2013 View Post
Yes exactly that.
You have to pull out the connector from the d command gently and put it in to place after the cleaning.
Great. Thanks for the tips. I will do this again when I can get a break. fwiw, even the bit of cleaning I was able to without disassembling the actual fader has improved my fluttering fader issues. . . not 100% better, but better than a couple of weeks ago.
__________________
@wildhoneymusic
http://razorandtiemusicpublishing.co.../gary-philips/
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-21-2017, 06:26 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 923
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watagushu2013 View Post
Yes exactly that.
You have to pull out the connector from the d command gently and put it in to place after the cleaning.
Fantastic. Just disassembled and lubricated everything and all faders are working perfectly. I was surprised by how much actual visible dust there was accumulated around the guide bars inside there. Thanks so much for the detailed instructions -- I never would have thought to take apart the whole fader housing. Brilliant.
__________________
@wildhoneymusic
http://razorandtiemusicpublishing.co.../gary-philips/
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-22-2017, 10:37 AM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 127
Default Re: Anybody have experience replacing faders on a D-Command?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildHoney View Post
Fantastic. Just disassembled and lubricated everything and all faders are working perfectly. I was surprised by how much actual visible dust there was accumulated around the guide bars inside there. Thanks so much for the detailed instructions -- I never would have thought to take apart the whole fader housing. Brilliant.


Great to hear that!
Hope you get away from fader issues in a while.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing D-Command ES Fader belts antonis ICON & C|24 1 10-29-2016 06:45 PM
ICON Faders - People's experience please legasafe ICON & C|24 47 05-23-2015 08:09 AM
Replacing a Fader in Command 8 Ryan Masecar ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 10-09-2013 08:27 AM
FS: D-Command ES 24 Faders / like new Numarek Buy & Sell 0 04-30-2013 06:12 AM
002 and Command 8 faders (not together) Bixby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-22-2004 08:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com