Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2017, 01:06 PM
jholmgren5 jholmgren5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 17
Default S6L AVB Problem?

I am having 2 problems that may or may not be connected.

1, when playing back tracks from protools using virtual sound check, I get crackles and pops. It just started randomly a couple weeks ago. Everything is running at the correct sample rate, bit rate, etc. Nothing as been changed on the computer either, running a Mac Mini, 2.7 ghz i7, 8GB. All tracks are recorded and sound clean when played as WAV files through our Mac, but when playing through AVB with virtual sound check, crackles and pops on all channels.

2nd problem, our redundant connection on the surface keeps getting lost. We have tried different cables, cat5e, cat6, etc. It drops out for a fraction of a second and reconnects, and displays the redundant lost warning. So its not the cables or anything like that.

Thoughts? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2017, 01:15 PM
hugolarin hugolarin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Default Re: S6L AVB Problem?

First problem gotta be that you are using Mac Sierra. It is not qualified. Recordings will be fine but playback will have these clock issues . Your track are clean no worries


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2017, 01:16 PM
hugolarin hugolarin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Default Re: S6L AVB Problem?

As to the second problem, can you confirm you wiring scheme? What is connected where ring wise?? Is this a 2 AVB engine or single?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2017, 01:24 PM
brinnbacka brinnbacka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 31
Default Re: S6L AVB Problem?

Had both of these issues appear constantly when running Sierra.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2017, 01:19 PM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 217
Default Re: S6L AVB Problem?

Yeah, sierra has a clock issue in it, and we can't support it just yet, although people are telling me that 10.12.4 patch seems to fix it for many of them, we haven't seen that in our test lab, but it's working out in the field...
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Pro Tools 9 and Profire 2626. Anybody have a solution to this problem? Priz Pro Tools Software (Win) 1 09-25-2011 12:51 PM
ELS Vocoder plugin problem and fresh Windows 7 install problem Thorpey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-09-2011 06:03 AM
Repeatable problem MP 7.4 upgraded to 8, ProFire 2626 problem tylerparkinson Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 08-21-2009 02:20 PM
digi 002/7.4 installation problem/not recordable volume problem fifthflaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-08-2008 01:28 PM
Audio Regions Display Problem & Grabber Problem markus44uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-25-2002 05:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com