Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2019, 05:03 PM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
Default Mojave Thinks PT 2019.5 is a 32-bit App

Every time I install 2019.5 on a Mac running Mojave, the first launch of Pro Tools gives me that message about how Pro Tools is not optimized for the Mac... that is, it's basically saying Pro Tools - or some component of it - is still 32-bit.

Anyone else also seeing this message first time launching Pro Tools in Mojave?

Better yet, anybody know why Mojave thinks Pro Tools, which is 64-bit, is still a 32-bit app?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | Mac Pro (2013) 6-Core | Sierra 10.12.6 | Focusrite Red 4Pre
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | MacBook Pro (2018) i5 | Mojave 10.14.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2019, 05:05 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,506
Default Re: Mojave Thinks PT 2019.5 is a 32-bit App

A lot of people have reported seeing this. Fair few posts on here with screenshots etc.

From memory, it’s the Quicktime component that triggers that warning.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2019, 05:05 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,995
Default Re: Mojave Thinks PT 2019.5 is a 32-bit App

It's not an issue, caused by the old QuickTime component packaged with Pro Tools that Avid need to replace in future. ... and Pro Tools itself as far as everything to do with processing audio *is* a 64-bit app.

Please try searching DUC or looking at the 2019 forum area before posting questions. This has been discussed here multiple times and is also in the 2019.5 release notes.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-26-2019 at 05:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2019, 09:44 AM
moogboy100 moogboy100 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 72
Default Re: Mojave Thinks PT 2019.5 is a 32-bit App

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Please try searching DUC or looking at the 2019 forum area before posting questions. This has been discussed here multiple times and is also in the 2019.5 release notes.
I did search, of course. For Mojave and 10.14 and 2019.5 and 32 and 64, etc. I just didn't find the multiple discussions, nor is there anything mentioned in the 2019.5 Release Notes which I also searched.

But anyways, thanks for pointing out that it's a Quicktime thing. I was only wondering if anybody else was seeing the same message, since I have never seen anyone else mention it yet.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | Mac Pro (2013) 6-Core | Sierra 10.12.6 | Focusrite Red 4Pre
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | MacBook Pro (2018) i5 | Mojave 10.14.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 iMac i9 + PT 2018 + Mojave rwbreck General Discussion 39 06-17-2019 05:27 AM
PT 2019 Mojave performance improvements bartosz idzi Pro Tools 2019 8 05-17-2019 01:10 PM
PT 2019 Mojave macPro 5,1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 20 05-13-2019 06:00 PM
Pro Tools 2019.5 & Mojave crashes every time briaboy Pro Tools 2019 13 05-10-2019 09:40 AM
new SSD for PT 2019 and Mojave question. Anibal Pro Tools 2018 0 05-09-2019 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com