Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2013, 08:33 AM
johnnyblues johnnyblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Haven CT USA
Posts: 9
Default Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

I have the digi 003 with LE 7.4.2 software. I upgraded my mac to mountain Lion 10.8 and now none of my recording drives can be set to record now. I get a prompt and it says it is not a valid recording drive. Even my mac HD can't be set to record in the workspace section. I desperately need to record what can I do? Do I need to up date my software some how? Please help.

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:02 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyblues View Post
Do I need to up date my software some how?
You need to buy an upgrade to Pro Tools v11 and an iLok v2 to store the authorization.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:06 AM
johnnyblues johnnyblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Haven CT USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

Where do I buy this? Is it available online from avid as a download or do I need to get it from a music store? Hope its not too expensive...:)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Post Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyblues View Post
Where do I buy this?
Pro Tools 11
iLok v2

You can run Pro Tools 11 as a fully-functional demo for 30 days, so you will not need the iLok v2 right away to launch the software. If you have any paid plug-ins, then getting those working will require buying upgrades, etc.
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:11 AM
Kasper Kasper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Boston,MA USA
Posts: 939
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

I haven't checked the specs, but I highly doubt PT 7 is a good idea with Mountain Lion.
You need to update to 10 at least, or you are in for a world of hurt.

Try reformatting a hard drive with the current version of Disk Utility. Then see if you can toggle to rec drive.


kasper

(I see the Chief has beat me to it ..... oh well, you'll probably have to reformat anyway)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:18 AM
johnnyblues johnnyblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Haven CT USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

where are these upgrades available from? Can I upgrade from 7.4.2 to 11?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2013, 09:43 AM
johnnyblues johnnyblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Haven CT USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

I see upgrades from 7.4.2 to 9 and from 10 to 11 but nothing from 7.4.2 to 11. Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2013, 10:55 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

To clarify a few things:

You upgraded to Mountain Lion without thinking about whether your software was compatible. 7.4 is not compatible with Mountain Lion, or even regular Lion.

In the future, you'll want to check things like that first. I don't know if it's possible to downgrade your Mac back to what it was before. If you can't, then you will need to purchase an upgrade to the latest version of Protools, which is 11. This also gives you a license for 10, which is useful because not all 3rd party plugins are ready for 11 yet.

In fact, you may need to pay to upgrade some of your 3rd party plugins to be compatible with both Mountain Lion and Protools 11/10.

The upgrade you need is the LE to 11 upgrade which is $399. It requires the hardware serial number of your 003 to qualify.

Also, since PT9, Protools requires an Ilok to run. You will need a version 2 Ilok specifically an Ilok v.2. This is about $50.


Alternatively, if you play guitar, you might just want to get an Eleven Rack, which includes PT11/10, and includes an Ilok 2.

You can get these for about $639 at Amazon or B&H Photo. That's less than $200 more than buying the upgrade and an Ilok 2.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2013, 12:00 PM
johnnyblues johnnyblues is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: West Haven CT USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

Thank you for giving me an answer that is clear. I had to upgrade to osx 10 to use final cut pro X I didn't think it would kill my pro tools. This really sucks because i had my system all set up working exactly as I needed Now I have to spend over $500 just to get my system working again! I am truly disappointed!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2013, 04:41 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,436
Default Re: Trouble with pro tools 7.4.2 and Mountain Lion osx 10.8

Disappointed in what exactly? Program stops working with Newer Os's all the time and vice verca, you even state yourself that you had to update your OS to use a certain program, that should give you enough clues that you should maybe make sure of what will happen if you update your os next time. Having to fork 500$ or more for something you should have checked first is not fun, but on the other hand if you go with the idea proposed for the 11rack, you don't just get a software, you get a hardware too, that has I/O, mic pre, good guitar amps (and bass amp) emulations. So all in all, it's not a bad thing.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE 8 on Mac OSX 10.8 Mountain Lion? goose22j 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 98 07-24-2015 03:31 PM
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 03:18 PM
Pro Tools LE 8 - Mountain Lion mmarco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-29-2013 11:35 AM
Trouble installing PT9 on new Macbook Pro (with Mountain Lion) Metallicamasta macOS 2 09-11-2012 04:38 PM
Pro Tools 10.2.0 on OSX Mountain Lion drot1 macOS 2 08-20-2012 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com