Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-19-2015, 10:55 AM
mike.porter mike.porter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 9
Default Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license not appearing on iLok

Hi all. I have Pro Tools 8 M-Powered, and have just purchased the upgrade to 11 from Sweetwater. They are sending me a link to download it, and mailing me the iLok 2.

I understand I'll be surrendering my original license to get the upgrade. But after installing the iLok License Manager software, I don't see the Pro Tools 8 license, though I do see the original iLok in License Manager. When I run Pro Tools 8, as long as I have the iLok and M-Audio hardware plugged in, it just works, so surely the license is on it.

I want to make sure I have everything lined up so that when the iLok 2 arrives I'll be able to install the upgrade.

I have the original Pro Tools 8 product registration information card, in case that helps. Also, I did do a Yosemite upgrade, and used Migration Assistant to do it, in case that matters/is messing things up somehow. (8 still works in Yosemite, in case anyone was wondering, at least basic sessions.)

Any ideas appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2015, 02:50 PM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license not appearing on iLok

Before Pro Tools 9, you needed a proprietary interface and Pro Tools used that interface for authorization instead of an iLok license.

There should be no license and you should be using your hardware serial number for authorization.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2015, 12:19 AM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,180
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license not appearing on iLok

Actually M-Powered was different than Digidesign PT, it always used an iLok for licensing. When you log into iLok.com online do you see your M-Powered license?
__________________
Pro Tools 12, Studio One V3.x
iMac 27" 5k i7 4Ghz, 32GB RAM 1TB Flash (OS X 10.10.x)
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
Interface: Antelope Audio Zen-Studio
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
Macbook Pro 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2015, 01:20 AM
Bruce Paine Bruce Paine is offline
Admin Emeritus
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Carmel, CA
Posts: 2,819
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license not appearing on iLok

Quote:
I want to make sure I have everything lined up so that when the iLok 2 arrives I'll be able to install the upgrade.
Short answer:
Yes, it looks like you are all set.

Long answer:
Your iLok account shows your Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license on your account, and activated (installed) on your original iLok.

When you get your iLok 2 and your upgrade, you will be getting an Activation Code for the upgrade. Just make sure that when you enter the activation code using the instructions you get with it that you enter your iLok User ID where the M-Powered license is located.

The upgrade will look on your account for the Pro Tools M-Powered license, and will ask you to insert the iLok where it is located in order to complete the upgrade.

Then you will activate (install) the new Pro Tools 11 Bundle on your iLok 2.
__________________
Bruce Paine
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2015, 12:06 PM
mike.porter mike.porter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license not appearing on iLok

Thanks all. This worked the way Bruce said it would (and, yes, I did have a PT 8 license at iLok.com, but only because I had emailed their support and gave them my original PT M-Powered serial number; they had to do something manually to get it straightened out).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Pro Tools M-Powered iLok license mlange Buy & Sell 5 12-31-2014 09:28 AM
FS: M Powered 8 ilok License Zooloolo Buy & Sell 2 12-30-2014 01:30 AM
FS: Pro Tools M-Powered 8 license - mlange Buy & Sell 1 12-20-2014 01:18 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
Does M-Powered ilok has License GSM card? riomusi Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 08-25-2005 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com