Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2007, 09:05 PM
bellpro bellpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default Using a head phone amp with control 24

Hello,
I am new at this but here it goes. I am trying to figure ot the correct way to hook up a head phone am with xlr imputs to the control 24. can any help me please?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:49 AM
DJRECORDS DJRECORDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

Quote:
Hello,
I am new at this but here it goes. I am trying to figure ot the correct way to hook up a head phone am with xlr imputs to the control 24. can any help me please?
Hi,

I think you can use the AUX output which is balanced jack outputs, then the volume can be controlled from the aux send on the control 24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2007, 08:08 AM
bellpro bellpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

Thanks.
I will give it a try
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2007, 08:50 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

Quote:


I think you can use the AUX output which is balanced jack outputs, then the volume can be controlled from the aux send on the control 24.
the aux inputs and outputs are only patched in so that you'll have the talkback connected. If you only use the aux outputs without sending anything to the aux input, you won't hear anything you've recorded in the phones, only talkback. In other words, the C24 doesn’t automatically send anything to the aux output; you have to plug something in to the aux input so it will pass thru.

Here is how I did mine:

I would get a rough mix and then use a send on each channel going to A 3-4 (I use the copy to send function)
At my patch bay I would patch A 3-4 to Aux input
Aux output to headphone amp input

I also have a more me system so I use A 5,6,7,8 as extra sends (all pre fader of course).
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2007, 11:17 PM
bellpro bellpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

I pluged the cables into the aux out 1/4" jacks on back of the c24 and used the monitor to aux volume control to send sound. But I am not getting the talk back through it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2007, 08:38 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

things you'll also have to look for are:

talkback volume - make sure its up

and

talkback assignment in the utilities menu...make sure its on the internal mic.


you should hear the talkback coming out of those outputs
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2007, 01:48 PM
Nivek Nivek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Crosby, Texas
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

I have seen this done 2 ways. First is one that one of the guys above mentioned. use say, 7&8 out of your interface depending which one you have to the headphone amp. If done this way, you have to make an insert on the tracks to go to 7&8. This will give you control over the individual instruments going to your headphones. I used the Monitor to Aux section in the center section to feed my headphone amp. a button push and knob twist and I have stereo mix to the headphones.
__________________
My Job is to keep the machines happy :P
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2007, 02:51 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Using a head phone amp with control 24

That is a good way, no question. I just hate to listen with the mix off. For instance, when you get that singer that likes to hear themselves much louder than the music. If you use monitor to aux, you ahve to listen to the mix the way they like it. I find I can concentrate on it much better if I'm not annoyed by how loud the vocal is. Of course I usually bussed the headphone mix back in to A 3-4 so I could switch over on the C24 Protools sources in and listen to what I was sending them.

If I'm not mistaken, you wouldn't have to input anything into the aux in if you use monitor to aux would you?
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Phone Mix DonaldM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-08-2010 12:01 PM
Control 24 and head phone amp bellpro ICON & C|24 3 07-01-2007 07:56 PM
Head phone mixes mastermorris Tips & Tricks 2 02-05-2007 08:24 PM
Head phone amp... ghost22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-15-2006 08:47 PM
Head phone mix? sheeptuf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-27-2004 08:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com