Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2004, 11:46 AM
offcentermusic offcentermusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 7
Default Garritan Personal Orch/Kontact Player Problem

Has anybody else had problems with running the Garritan Personal Orchestra and the Kontact player as an RTAS plug-in?

I've got a Mix 24/ 2-Farm-card system running on a Mac G4/733mHz with system OS X 10.2.8 and a Gig of RAM. Apparently, this is within the required range for running GPO and Kontact player.

However, every time I load up the GPO plug-in and start to play a few MIDI notes, the damn Kontact player hangs up and all I get is a faint clicking noise. ProTools crashes and I have to reboot my computer.

Anybody else had this problem? Got a workaround? Or is my system "too slow or too old?" Man, I hope not. This G4 was top of the line just a couple of years ago, it seems. Surely, it's not time to chuck it already!

Thanks!

Dan Goldberg
www.off-centermusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2004, 04:06 PM
steins steins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Norway
Posts: 383
Default Re: Garritan Personal Orch/Kontact Player Problem

I've found the GPO/Kontakt Player to be a real CPU hog, even on my dual 1.42GHz G4.

Have you tried adjusting the H/W Buffer Size?

Stein Tore
__________________
Stein Tore Sønsteli
My private mixing room: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDN), Mac Pro 5.1 OS X High Sierra, Avid I/O's, D-Command ES 8-fader.
Main studio at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDX-1), Mac Mini 2018 OS X Mojave, RedNet/Dante I/O's, Avid S6 24-fader.
Audio editing suites at work: Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11 (HDN), Mac Pro 6.1, OS X Mojave, Avid Omni, Artist Series control surfaces.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:01 PM
Bambison Bambison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Garritan Personal Orch/Kontact Player Problem

I had/have the same problem. Unfortunately, i found no work-a-round other than to open the GPO instruments within Kontakt, which I already owned (fortunately). Even that has its issues at times. But, it's workable. Otherwise, the Kompakt player that's being distributed with GPO and other instruments is buggy to the point of being useless. Basically, we're paying to be beta testers for Native Instruments and their friends. Very un-cool as far as I'm concerned. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2004, 01:38 AM
AG AG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 186
Default Re: Garritan Personal Orch/Kontact Player Problem

This is known to NI and Digi, who are supposedly working on this. It does work, but it's limited compared to every other sampler that will run in ProTools. There is hope since other players, like Impakt and Intakt that come with the East/West libraries, have recently had updates which have helped.
_S
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2004, 09:54 AM
Jeff D. Jeff D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 805
Default Re: Garritan Personal Orch/Kontact Player Problem

Wow, thanks guys! I was just about to click "buy" for the GPO, intending to use it as a plug-in in my PT sessions.

Have you tried the East West Quantum Leap Orchestra, which uses the Kompakt player? Does it suffer from the same problems? The silver edition costs $269, which is comparable to GPO.

Thanks,

Jeff D.
__________________
www.jephthastudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody using Garritan Personal Orchestra? The Dougfather 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-15-2008 12:56 PM
Garritan Personal Orchestra Kirby B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-03-2007 06:31 PM
anyone use garritan personal orchestra? MunchieLad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-29-2005 03:04 PM
Anyone using Garritan Personal Orchestra in osx? Locash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-15-2004 04:33 AM
OT: Garritan Personal Orchestra Carl Fuehrer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-24-2003 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com