Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:37 PM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 121
Default Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Hello Team Avid,

I'm using Pro Tools with an Apollo Twin Mk2 quad core audio interface, and a Shure SM7B. I want to be able to use my Shure SM7B for both XBOX One streaming and XBOX PARTY CHAT. I have no issues using it on my streams, however, I don't know how to channel my Apollo's inputs (in this case, the Shure SM7B) to where the XBOX controller can understand the Apollo's microphone signal or language (for lack of a better word).

I was told to use a dual TRS going into line outputs 3 and line 4 on the Apollo, assign Mics to those outputs in Pro Tools and connect the other end of that dual TRS to an audio Y splitter (mic & headphones) for the xbox controller. I tried this and I still get nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

EDIT: Not sure if its ok for me to do this but here are a few examples of people who've done it. The difference between me and them is the audio interface and maybe the DAW.
-_(*_*)_-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCg4-r7WL2Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYTpNzTaK5A&t=85s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQpdKAYr9rA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GQ-n5W6DKbs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvZDjdCcZwU
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface

Last edited by ReynaldoPena; 11-12-2020 at 03:42 PM. Reason: References
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:44 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,828
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Not clear here... are you trying to record these streams or chats from Pro Tools and record the mic input at the same time?

If not then just set this up in the Apollo Console... that can be all stand alone, you don't need Pro Tools or even the computer running.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:53 PM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 121
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Not clear here... are you trying to record these streams or chats from Pro Tools and record the mic input at the same time?

If not then just set this up in the Apollo Console... that can be all stand alone, you don't need Pro Tools or even the computer running.
Hey Darryl thanks for the prompt response. How are you? Hope all is well. I'm lost in the wiring. The mic is XLR, the line outputs on the Apollo are TRS, the guitar amp is also TRS, the headphone mix, the monitor outputs--everything. if TRS to TRRS into the xbox controller does not work, I was told to use the audio y splitter. Then that also did not work. Then I was told to use Pro Tools or the Apollo's "Console" software to route the mic input into the line output, despite all these adjustments, is like the xbox controller does not recognize the signal from the Apollo. Believe it or not this is the ONLY thing that worked https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


but that would mean I won't be able to use the Shure mic to interact with my audience while streaming (unless I stream straight from the xbox, which does not have multi stream capabilities.
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface

Last edited by ReynaldoPena; 11-12-2020 at 03:55 PM. Reason: Grammar
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,828
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Whoa. Again just what are you trying to do? Can you answer my previous question.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:58 PM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 121
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Not clear here... are you trying to record these streams or chats from Pro Tools and record the mic input at the same time?

If not then just set this up in the Apollo Console... that can be all stand alone, you don't need Pro Tools or even the computer running.
I am not trying to record these streams or chats from pro tools and record the mic input at the same time.

I'm looking to use the SHURE SM7B going into the Apollo and send it to my XBOX controller via its 3.5m jack. However, I am lost in the wiring (Inputs/output/¿sends?) of it all.
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,828
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Forgetting Pro Tools for now.

The Sure Mic goes in mono balanced into the XLR input on the Apollo. You confirm it works in the console, meters move, you can monitor in a headphone etc. Pro Tools is not used/running.

What I'd do is... just handle this sigal as mono in the Console and feed out that mono to one of the line level outputs...

And all the actual plug wiring involved is standard/can be found online. Like https://components101.com/connectors/35mm-audio-jack

So now you have a mono signal on a balanced 1/4" phono socket output from the Apollo.

I'm not sure what else you have running off the TTRS plug in the XBox in terms of speakers etc. I am guessing you don't want to feed them back though the same headphones or speakers connected to the Apollo. The easy way I'd do this is make up my own cable, get a cable with a suitable TTRS plug on one end and wire the mic +signal and ground from the Apollo to the mic input, leave the -ve signal disconnected. Since the XBox is expecting a mic level input you are going to have to turn the level way down on the console. If you are using a gaming headphone off that same socket you could make up a box that had sockers for a 1/4" phone balanced cable and gaming headphones and a 1/8" TTRS fly lead to the Xbox. Or if you are brave just cut the TTRS plug off the headphone and hard wire in a cable to the 1/4" TRS phono plug.

Or start by using an of the shelf splitter for the TTRS input to do some of this... like https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-.../dp/B00CPEZ4J6. Plug your current headset in there and then you just need a cable that goes 1/4" phone plug to 1/8" phone plug, TR or TRS cable for that connection back to the Apollo should not matter.

Any of the above *might* introduce grounding/hum issues, and the exact best wiring options between the balanced and unbalanced signals might need some playing with (leaving -ve output floating, how ground vs shield is used etc.), or and you may be better with a balun for the mic. But try it as simple as possible first and see.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-12-2020 at 04:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2020, 05:33 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,421
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

I set up someone using one of these to get a split from his preamp into the mic in on his MacBook.

https://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/irig2/
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2020, 10:02 AM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 121
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
I set up someone using one of these to get a split from his preamp into the mic in on his MacBook.

https://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/irig2/
Hi Jimmy, good afternoon. Thanks, I just ordered this. I had to go ahead and cancel because I mind as well get the iRig HD 2. This will allow me to produce music in my phone and hopefully use my Shure mic on the XBOX. Since it only takes in TRS, I ordered this, https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Not sure if it will function with the Apollo and the iRig at the same time though.
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-2020, 10:04 AM
ReynaldoPena ReynaldoPena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 121
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Forgetting Pro Tools for now.

The Sure Mic goes in mono balanced into the XLR input on the Apollo. You confirm it works in the console, meters move, you can monitor in a headphone etc. Pro Tools is not used/running.

What I'd do is... just handle this sigal as mono in the Console and feed out that mono to one of the line level outputs...

And all the actual plug wiring involved is standard/can be found online. Like https://components101.com/connectors/35mm-audio-jack

So now you have a mono signal on a balanced 1/4" phono socket output from the Apollo.

I'm not sure what else you have running off the TTRS plug in the XBox in terms of speakers etc. I am guessing you don't want to feed them back though the same headphones or speakers connected to the Apollo. The easy way I'd do this is make up my own cable, get a cable with a suitable TTRS plug on one end and wire the mic +signal and ground from the Apollo to the mic input, leave the -ve signal disconnected. Since the XBox is expecting a mic level input you are going to have to turn the level way down on the console. If you are using a gaming headphone off that same socket you could make up a box that had sockers for a 1/4" phone balanced cable and gaming headphones and a 1/8" TTRS fly lead to the Xbox. Or if you are brave just cut the TTRS plug off the headphone and hard wire in a cable to the 1/4" TRS phono plug.

Or start by using an of the shelf splitter for the TTRS input to do some of this... like https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-.../dp/B00CPEZ4J6. Plug your current headset in there and then you just need a cable that goes 1/4" phone plug to 1/8" phone plug, TR or TRS cable for that connection back to the Apollo should not matter.

Any of the above *might* introduce grounding/hum issues, and the exact best wiring options between the balanced and unbalanced signals might need some playing with (leaving -ve output floating, how ground vs shield is used etc.), or and you may be better with a balun for the mic. But try it as simple as possible first and see.
Hey Darryl, as I was looking into these, I decided to call up StarTech.com. They make the 4 position microphone and headphone jack you posted. What they said was that the problem with XLRs is that they require power. 3.5mm's don't carry any power. I went ahead and ordered the irig hd 2, I'll keep you all posted.
__________________
itun.es/us/Nwwyq
On My Way 2007

itun.es/us/N6dN9
Razzmatazz 2015

itun.es/us/piiN9
Reinando En Las Discotecas 2015

iMac (Retina 5K. 27-Inch, 2020)
Processor 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel Core i9
3.6 GHz Dual-Intel Core i7
16GB ram
AMD Radeon Pro 5700 8GB
Pro Tools 2020
FL Studio All Plug-Ins Edition
Shure SM7B Mic
AU Apollo Twin X QUAD Audio Interface
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2020, 11:28 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,828
Default Re: Using Pro Tools w/ Xbox One X

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReynaldoPena View Post
Hey Darryl, as I was looking into these, I decided to call up StarTech.com. They make the 4 position microphone and headphone jack you posted. What they said was that the problem with XLRs is that they require power. 3.5mm's don't carry any power. I went ahead and ordered the irig hd 2, I'll keep you all posted.
No this is wrong, and you and the Startech rep are unfortunately both confused. I described to you how to make up a simple cable in principle and pointed you at all the wiring info you needed.

XLRs do not "require power". They can be used to carry phantom power, typically for condenser mics, but 1. you are not using a condenser mic and 2. even if you are the questions you asked was about routing from the Apollo to the Xbox so your XLR connection to the mic is coming from your Apollo interface and you would just turn on phantom power there. Phantom power is not provided at the line output and has nothing to do with the connections you are asking about.

Did you change what you wanted to do? Do you now want to unplug the mic each time and switch between the Apollo and the Xbox? If you are talking about XLRs?

The use of an iRig type instrument preamp here between the Apollo output and the mic input of the Xbox is likely unneeded and likely worse than just using a piece of cable. You already have way better preamps in the Apollo that are driving a hot input into the mic the last thing you need is another preamp of any type in the circuit, so you turn down the gain as far as it can go on the iRig and hope that is enough. But all you needed to start with a basic cable wired correctly. I doubt the iRig provides say a transformer coupled input and since its designed for a guitar input its certainly not providing a transformer coupled balanced to unbalanced conversion... so really no point to use over a piece of wire.

Please pick up a book on basic audio engineering, this is really stuff you should not be confused about. A good book is: https://www.amazon.com/Recording-Eng.../dp/159863867X
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Tools HD 8 + Pro Tools HD 9 + Pro Tools 9 Bundle iLOK license Delta Music Belgium Buy & Sell 1 02-27-2019 04:33 PM
xBox as sound modules?? CraigLearmont Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-12-2004 11:01 AM
Unbelievably OT: PS2 vs. Xbox vs. whatever dans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 05-16-2003 06:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com