Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2013, 09:35 AM
dwaynedelario dwaynedelario is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 363
Default Interleaved Import Broken?

I am trying to maintain compatibility with PT9, and even though I have the "interleaved" button unchecked in the session setup, when I import stereo audio files it is still bringing them in as interleaved.

If I click the "Convert copied files to Session Format" in the processing preferences tab, I then get the option to convert upon import. If this is the case, what's the point of the interleaved button?

Did this perhaps change in 10.3.3? I just recently upgraded to HDX and PT10.. Any help appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2013, 08:29 PM
TAPSpace TAPSpace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 86
Default Re: Interleaved Import Broken?

Hey Dwayne, I thought I might take a shot at your question.

The reason that there is an interleaved button in the session setup window is because that tells Pro Tools which format to use for new files or media that it creates (AudioSuite or bus to track type stuff). So for example you can import a 16-bit file into a 24-bit session and it will remain a 16-bit file because that file is not created by the session, it is only imported.

If you want to have files split in to mono (like the old way PT9 and before) you can keep doing what you are doing (which is converting on import and it asks you every time) or you can simply allow Pro Tools to import the file the way it is, and then when you are exporting to PT9 session format, it will force everything to the appropriate format.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2013, 08:27 AM
dwaynedelario dwaynedelario is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 363
Default Re: Interleaved Import Broken?

Thanks for the detailed response, TAPSpace. I can see why they had to program it this way to delineate between freshly recorded material and imported material. I will make sure to leave that option checked in the preferences as I don't want to have to copy audio from these massive sessions every time i need to feed the dub stage. Hopefully the last few PT9 stragglers will upgrade soon!!!

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Import sereo interleaved files Modus Sollers Pro Tools 10 0 04-09-2012 08:45 AM
Interleaved File import very slow from Workspace kenn.michael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 55 08-03-2011 05:27 AM
Import Session Data broken?? ilovemyssl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-06-2007 04:25 AM
AAF import broken in 6.7 (all the way up to cs8)? jstaczek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-28-2005 06:28 PM
CD import broken, help Richard Fairbanks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-28-1999 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com