Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-26-2010, 12:07 PM

Default MAJOR delay compensation problem! Very strange!

It's a long post, but PLEASE read through this, because I'm a little freaked out at this random problem and I desperately need some answers.

I've been working with Pro Tools for 10 years on all platforms and I've never encountered this problem until recently. Basic info... PT 7.4, mac G5 dual 2 GHz PPC, 1.5 GB DDR SDRAM, running two 192s, 888/24, 1622, with control 24.

The problem...

I setup everything to record a band just like I always do. Same mics, pres, routing, plugins etc. I don't have enough outboard EQs, so I run all of my drums through aux tracks with some EQ, just like I've done for years. I imported drum template session data from another band that I recently recorded to cut down on setup time and then make tweaks. We set levels, get great tones from the drums and start recording.

I record with delay compensation on (and I've also had it off, both with no problems). During sound check and while we are recording, everything sounds normal. HOWEVER, when I play back the drums, the snare sounds out of phase, but the snare and drums themselves are in phase.

Here's where it gets really weird. If I turn off delay compensation, the snare sounds normal/ in phase. If I turn delay comp. back on, then it sounds out of phase!!! Again, I've recorded with this exact same setup before without problems until recently. If I make all plugins inactive, the problem is still there.