Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2020, 04:25 PM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 20
Default Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

Hello,

I finally upgraded to Protools 12 on my Surface Pro 6. At first the program had presented a message saying it couldn't find my hardware (a Fast Track Pro) and wouldn't open, so I downloaded a program called ASIO4ALL. After downloading and installing ASIO4ALL, I was able to open the program, but I encountered various problems. Many of those problems were related to plugins not being installed from previous files, but I also had an occasional issue of static white noise blasting over the music. I tried solving it by adjusting playback engine settings and I/O settings but instead of removing the static, I somehow messed up the audio and now I can't get any sound from it. Short of reinstalling everything, what can I do to reverse this?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2020, 07:17 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,428
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trace305 View Post
Hello,

I finally upgraded to Protools 12 on my Surface Pro 6. At first the program had presented a message saying it couldn't find my hardware (a Fast Track Pro) and wouldn't open, so I downloaded a program called ASIO4ALL. After downloading and installing ASIO4ALL, I was able to open the program, but I encountered various problems. Many of those problems were related to plugins not being installed from previous files, but I also had an occasional issue of static white noise blasting over the music. I tried solving it by adjusting playback engine settings and I/O settings but instead of removing the static, I somehow messed up the audio and now I can't get any sound from it. Short of reinstalling everything, what can I do to reverse this?

Thanks in advance!

Hi, You should really try to get the Fast Track Pro recognized by Pro Tools. Try uninstalling (and deleting) the drivers, then reinstalling them. Reseat and/or reboot the computer.

Other than that, make sure to go through everything here: Help Us Help You
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.11.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2020, 10:58 PM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 20
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

Hey, I tried uninstalling and reinstalling ASIO4ALL to no avail. I still get no sound at all. I'm sure it's just a setting, because I had changed something because static was playing over the audio when I played it. I'm just not sure if it was the playback engine or the I/O settings or what have you...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2020, 11:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,663
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

The Fast Track Pro does not have drivers for, and is not supported on Windows 10.

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ck-Pro-Drivers

I would buy another interface before suffering though ASIO4ALL, e.g. static issues may very well be ASIO4ALL related.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2020, 06:18 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,928
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

ASIO4All requires that your audio device is working in the first place. It is a solution for audio devices that do not come with ASIO drivers (The FTP does have it's own ASIO driver).

As Daryl mentioned, there aren't Windows 10 drivers for the FTP, however I've had no issues using Windows 8 drivers on Windows 10.

Beyond replacing the FTP, try downloading the last Windows driver and forget ASIO4All.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2020, 10:22 AM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 20
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

Thanks guys, I'll try all this.

One thing I wanted to clear up though was that the performance of ASIO4ALL was simply erratic as opposed to non-existent. I had pulled up a file initally and things worked fine. I pulled it up again a day or so later and had the static over music issue that I mentioned earlier. At around that same time, I had pulled up an internet audio page (youtube or something) and was getting the same effect: static blasting over the music. I tried pulling out my headphone jack and putting it back in and then it went back to normal. Sadly, I did not do this with ProTools and instead fiddled around in Playback Engine and I/O settings trying to trigger a change.

I understand about the Fast Track Pro and I've had some issues with it that were pretty similar: When I was trying to video myself using it to record the audio, I got static similar to this. I would usually fix that by unplugging it and plugging it back in and that would clear it up. For the last two years I've been using the Fast Track Pro on another Windows 10 machine, but that was with Pro Tools 8 (which was ok, but it wasn't all that stable and I couldn't install new plugins, ect.)

Long story short, I'm not convinced that ASIO4ALL is the problem because at least I would get static and audio. I believe that I can solve THAT issue with hardware. My problem is I can't get ANY audio anymore in Protools and that wasn't the case when I started out. I can try and post pictures of my I/O and Playback Engine settings and maybe y'all can spot something? Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2020, 12:42 PM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 20
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

These are some screen shots I took...does everything look ok?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Protools screenshot 1.jpg (61.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Protools screenshot 2 playback engine.jpg (65.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Protools screenshot 3 hardware.jpg (53.4 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Protools screenshot 4.jpg (66.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2020, 02:15 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,428
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trace305 View Post
Thanks guys, I'll try all this.

One thing I wanted to clear up though was that the performance of ASIO4ALL was simply erratic as opposed to non-existent. I had pulled up a file initally and things worked fine. I pulled it up again a day or so later and had the static over music issue that I mentioned earlier. At around that same time, I had pulled up an internet audio page (youtube or something) and was getting the same effect: static blasting over the music. I tried pulling out my headphone jack and putting it back in and then it went back to normal. Sadly, I did not do this with ProTools and instead fiddled around in Playback Engine and I/O settings trying to trigger a change.

I understand about the Fast Track Pro and I've had some issues with it that were pretty similar: When I was trying to video myself using it to record the audio, I got static similar to this. I would usually fix that by unplugging it and plugging it back in and that would clear it up. For the last two years I've been using the Fast Track Pro on another Windows 10 machine, but that was with Pro Tools 8 (which was ok, but it wasn't all that stable and I couldn't install new plugins, ect.)

Long story short, I'm not convinced that ASIO4ALL is the problem because at least I would get static and audio. I believe that I can solve THAT issue with hardware. My problem is I can't get ANY audio anymore in Protools and that wasn't the case when I started out. I can try and post pictures of my I/O and Playback Engine settings and maybe y'all can spot something? Thanks again!
Since, as others have indicated, FTP isn't supported in Windows 10, and ASIO4ALL is not a good permanent solution (I've had varying levels of success with it over the years), you're fighting a losing battle. Best bet is to get a supported interface IMHO.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.11.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-26-2020, 02:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,663
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

^^^ exactly.

You could spend forever trying to get ASIO4ALL to work, and for what, some scratchy noisy not really working thing... for what reason? And you are running on a Surface Pro 6 which is probably not a good choice for a Pro Tools computer... including because very few other users will be using it, so there is just very little experience with how Pro Tools runs on the device, or how well or not ASIO4ALL, or WASAPI/Windows Audio works with the internal audio devices. Since you have Pro Tools 12 WASAPI/Windows Audio may be an option... but who knows if that works with this tablet?

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-26-2020 at 03:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-26-2020, 03:54 PM
Trace305 Trace305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami
Posts: 20
Default Re: Protools 12 and ASIO4ALL playback engine issue

You could spend forever trying to get ASIO4ALL to work, and for what, some scratchy noisy not really working thing... for what reason? And you are running on a Surface Pro 6 which is probably not a good choice for a Pro Tools computer... including because very few other users will be using it, so there is just very little experience with how Pro Tools runs on the device, or how well or not ASIO4ALL, or WASAPI/Windows Audio works with the internal audio devices. Since you have Pro Tools 12 WASAPI/Windows Audio may be an option... but who knows if that works with this tablet?I HAD ASIO4ALL working.

When I downloaded Pro Tools 12, I could not open it because it could not find the hardware. Once I downloaded ASIO4ALL I had no problem opening it and playing it. The first time, it worked perfectly, the second time I got static over the music, but I still GOT SOMETHING. My issue is that in trying to fix the static through pro tools, I managed to change my settings so now I don't even get static, just silence. I know that I changed something, but I need to know what it is I did and how to change it back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot use ASIO4ALL V2 Playback Engine. Assertion error line 994. Unable to fix. JJBG Pro Tools 12 3 02-25-2020 04:36 PM
Bounce to disk: Asio4All vs Interface as Playback Engine ToneSetter General Discussion 2 06-18-2019 11:27 PM
Playback Engine Issue (Won’t load session with chosen playback engine) MattyJones Pro Tools 11 0 11-02-2015 12:52 PM
ASIO4ALL and the PT10 Playback Engine tpann Windows 4 04-30-2013 03:16 AM
Asio4all 88.2 playback issue benherron.rrr Windows 2 09-22-2012 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com