Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2002, 10:59 AM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default 002 DSP, converters and mic pres

I inquired about the DSP (EQ, dyanmics, reverb, etc.) and mic pres on the "yeah or nay" thread, which seems to be gone so I'm posting it again as a new topic. Sorry if it was answered, but I missed it.

Does anyone know about the quality and usability of the DSP for the 002? I'm wondering what is offered, per channel, and if its the Digirack stuff, or something better. Can the DSP effects be used for tracking or just mixing? How many instances per channel/track? My hope is that if the quality is real good, it could take some strain off the CPU.

What about the quality of the converters? Does the 108db dynamic range spec in the PDF compare with other 96k converters? Can these converters be bypassed if someone wants to use better converters?

I'd also like to know what the mic pres are in the 002. I assume they will be like the MBox, or the Control24, but haven't seen anything to confirm this.

I know some of people are at odds with the 002, and while I think its a good package, its probably better suited for first time PTLE buyers. Firewire and portability is nice, but not an immediate need for me. The cost of an 002 would buy me a real nice mic pre, too. Time will tell how the 002 works out.

regards,
dave patterson / knobville
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2002, 11:21 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: 002 DSP, converters and mic pres

I can answer the DSP question for you, well, kinda. The onboard DSP is only usable when in stand-alone mode. The DSP is not available when the 002 is being used in conjunction with PTLE, it's just a control surface and I/O when you're connected to the computer. This comes from a post from the digi admin on the day the 002 was released - possibly in the 'yay or nay' thread, can't remember for sure. A lot of your other questions have also already been addressed in other posts, but maybe digi deleted them all - try a search for 002, you're sure to dig up some info.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2002, 03:27 PM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: 002 DSP, converters and mic pres

Slim,

Thanks for the tip. I've been checking this forum a few times a day, and some of the posts seem to pop up right after I've posted my question. Bad timing, I guess.

dave patterson / knobville

Quote:
Originally posted by Slim Shady:
just making sure you saw this other active thread:

digi002 standalone internal dsp
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2002, 01:21 AM
davidp158 davidp158 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Belleuve, WA, USA
Posts: 804
Default Re: 002 DSP, converters and mic pres

Slim,

Thanks for the reply. I've read a few speculations about the mic pres and converters, but didn't know if any of them were conclusive.

Regarding the DSP only being available with standalone mixer mode, this seems kinda odd. It would seem that the majority of 002 users would use the 002 for recording, not as a standalone mixer. Thus, its almost a waste to include the DSP functions if you can't use it with PTLE.

The PDF doc on the 002 does say the DPS effects are available in the standalone mixer mode, but I assumed they'd be available for recording too. The PDF also says it offers "snapshots"; which would be handy for recording.

dave patterson / knobville
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2002, 01:26 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: 002 DSP, converters and mic pres

just making sure you saw this other active thread:

digi002 standalone internal dsp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni Pres/Converters vs. Other Pres/Converters Infiltrator Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 01-15-2012 11:28 PM
Confused about Converters and Pres djkiller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 11-16-2009 12:57 PM
How to bypass the mic pres and the AD converters - 003 GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-06-2007 11:16 AM
Mic Pres / Compressors / A/D converters somalade Tips & Tricks 5 03-15-2005 09:14 PM
What's the weak link of the 002? Pres, converters? bassface 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2004 01:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com