Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:33 PM
USBnoGood USBnoGood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Lightbulb Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

Me and my wife are planning on buying an external drive for us to share between her Avid edits and my Pro Tools stuff (and I might as well buy one more of these for me, if they're good and cheap):

http://macmall.com/ttsvr/p/Fantom-Dr...75~pdp.fejdjga

Is anyone using this drive?
Does anyone know what firewire chipset is it using?

I'd love to know, so post your experiences if any. These were recommended by her Avid editing instructor. They seem well built (and a lot cheaper than OWC Mercury Elite Pro Classics)...

.
__________________
Hardware:
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo (4 GB RAM inst./3 GB used, new 320 GB/7200 RPM HD) , Digi 003 Rack, Apogee Mini-Me, 2 FW400 Oxford 911 enclosures;
Software/Plugins:
- Mac OS X 10.5.8, Pro Tools LE 8.0.1;
- Addictive Drums 1.1.0, POD Farm, Kontakt 3.5, Melodyne Plugin, Sonalksis (All), T-Racks 3 Deluxe;
Issues:
Random errors of Lost Communication, invalid clock and RTAS CPU (even below 25% usage).
D-Verb 2.0 test:
About 55 (11 tracks) at 1024.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:44 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

Green drives by there are probably not good for audio (self RMP control)
I think someone tried a green drive in there computer w/o much luck but I could be remembering it wrong
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:51 PM
USBnoGood USBnoGood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

Ok thanks for that tip! Cool. Glad I didn't order the Green.
And what about other Fantom drives (G-Force, Titanium II)?

http://macmall.com/ttsvr/p/Fantom-Dr...81~pdp.fddhcja

http://macmall.com/ttsvr/p/Fantom-Dr...74~pdp.eahacbf
__________________
Hardware:
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo (4 GB RAM inst./3 GB used, new 320 GB/7200 RPM HD) , Digi 003 Rack, Apogee Mini-Me, 2 FW400 Oxford 911 enclosures;
Software/Plugins:
- Mac OS X 10.5.8, Pro Tools LE 8.0.1;
- Addictive Drums 1.1.0, POD Farm, Kontakt 3.5, Melodyne Plugin, Sonalksis (All), T-Racks 3 Deluxe;
Issues:
Random errors of Lost Communication, invalid clock and RTAS CPU (even below 25% usage).
D-Verb 2.0 test:
About 55 (11 tracks) at 1024.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:30 PM
docbop docbop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

Do you have a express card slot on your MBP if you do you ought to think about getting a SATA card and forget FW. If your wife is doing video it has higher I/O requirements than audio so be better for both of you.
__________________
Steve B.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:41 PM
USBnoGood USBnoGood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by docbop View Post
Do you have a express card slot on your MBP if you do you ought to think about getting a SATA card and forget FW. If your wife is doing video it has higher I/O requirements than audio so be better for both of you.
Well yeah but obviously not on the same computer :) That's why we're getting an external, more for her than for me. She has her own 24' iMac that's been working swell with Avid and Final Cut. A LOT better than my MacBook Pro with Pro Tools, to be honest... It's frustrating that nowadays, video seems more trouble-free than audio, even though it (should) theoretically be more demanding and complex.
__________________
Hardware:
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo (4 GB RAM inst./3 GB used, new 320 GB/7200 RPM HD) , Digi 003 Rack, Apogee Mini-Me, 2 FW400 Oxford 911 enclosures;
Software/Plugins:
- Mac OS X 10.5.8, Pro Tools LE 8.0.1;
- Addictive Drums 1.1.0, POD Farm, Kontakt 3.5, Melodyne Plugin, Sonalksis (All), T-Racks 3 Deluxe;
Issues:
Random errors of Lost Communication, invalid clock and RTAS CPU (even below 25% usage).
D-Verb 2.0 test:
About 55 (11 tracks) at 1024.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:52 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

remember you want an Oxford chip in whatever drive enclosure you get.
The OWC ones look almost the same as the Fantom and have Oxford chips for sure.
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firew...W800_FW400_USB
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:56 PM
USBnoGood USBnoGood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogeekzine View Post
remember you want an Oxford chip in whatever drive enclosure you get.
The OWC ones look almost the same as the Fantom and have Oxford chips for sure.
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/firew...W800_FW400_USB
Correct. I was asking because the Fantoms are cheaper, and they were recommended as a good cheap external drive for AVID students / professionals, according to my wife.

So I got curious about them. If they're tried-and-true for Avid, can they be that bad for Pro Tools? They should have oxford chipset too... :/ But there's no way to know, for now
__________________
Hardware:
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo (4 GB RAM inst./3 GB used, new 320 GB/7200 RPM HD) , Digi 003 Rack, Apogee Mini-Me, 2 FW400 Oxford 911 enclosures;
Software/Plugins:
- Mac OS X 10.5.8, Pro Tools LE 8.0.1;
- Addictive Drums 1.1.0, POD Farm, Kontakt 3.5, Melodyne Plugin, Sonalksis (All), T-Racks 3 Deluxe;
Issues:
Random errors of Lost Communication, invalid clock and RTAS CPU (even below 25% usage).
D-Verb 2.0 test:
About 55 (11 tracks) at 1024.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-14-2009, 08:38 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,174
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

+1 for OWC drives. When you break down the cost over the life of the drive, the price difference is actually next to nothing. eSATA is also an excellent alternative that SHOULD out-perform any firewire set.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-14-2009, 08:41 PM
USBnoGood USBnoGood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 125
Default Re: Experiences with Fantom Green Drives?

I really don't have Firewire performance problems.
Disk performance is the least of my problems really. I wish CPU performance, overall system speed and stability was always like the 2% showed in the Disk Performance bar...
__________________
Hardware:
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo (4 GB RAM inst./3 GB used, new 320 GB/7200 RPM HD) , Digi 003 Rack, Apogee Mini-Me, 2 FW400 Oxford 911 enclosures;
Software/Plugins:
- Mac OS X 10.5.8, Pro Tools LE 8.0.1;
- Addictive Drums 1.1.0, POD Farm, Kontakt 3.5, Melodyne Plugin, Sonalksis (All), T-Racks 3 Deluxe;
Issues:
Random errors of Lost Communication, invalid clock and RTAS CPU (even below 25% usage).
D-Verb 2.0 test:
About 55 (11 tracks) at 1024.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your experiences with PT10 and SSD OS drives NewdestinyX macOS 12 01-12-2012 06:07 PM
Fantom vs. Lacie Drives? Droog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 04-25-2005 01:59 PM
Fantom Drives Titanium 120GB Firewire HD 7200RP? Alex Rodriguez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-07-2004 07:01 PM
Anyone using Fantom CD-RW drives? audiobob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-16-2003 07:13 AM
Fantom Drives FireWire tsampson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-15-1999 04:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com