Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:58 AM
stoneinapond stoneinapond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: ny
Posts: 993
Default Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

With Apple releasing Snow Leopard at the end of the week (28th), I wonder if we will get any information from Digidesign as to time frames, warnings or any other tidbits.

I realize that new operating systems should not be installed if Pro Tools is a major reason for having a Mac, without Digidesign sanctioning such actions. And I don't know enough about the differences between regular Leopard and the new release to make any predictions about whether it might work or not. Most probably not, but just for the fun of it I might try the install on a secondary system (MacBook) that is not critical to me at the moment.

I also know that Digidesign is not in the bussiness of providing deadlines, but perhaps they can chime in with some information.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:01 AM
brendanJacobs brendanJacobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

I think it best to wait until Digi says something official. I like stability over bells and whistles. You are braver than me
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:06 AM
barstool719 barstool719 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 625
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

From all I have read about SL, it's supposed to be pretty serious business.

Bottom line is - unless you're between projects, or have an extra backup machine to muck around with it, wait until it's Digi qualified.

I would expect that SL support would come faster than Leo support, but only time will tell.

True 64 bit support would most likely be PT9, but I'm just speculating.
__________________
i7-860 / 12GB Kingston / Intel DP55WB / 500GB Barracuda / 1TB Deskstar W7x64
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 9.0.3
Mics, Guitars, Amps, Basses, Drums, Keys


http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:18 AM
fenderrocker fenderrocker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 425
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by barstool719 View Post
True 64 bit support would most likely be PT9, but I'm just speculating.
That would be a huge disappointment. PT8 is practically brand new. We can only hope it will be 8.1 or 8.2. And we can pray that it will be sub $100.
__________________
Jim Carroll
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:18 AM
stoneinapond stoneinapond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: ny
Posts: 993
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by brendanJacobs View Post
...You are braver than me
No, it's just that I'm between projects right now and my main system is not going anywhere near any new animal species until the zoo keepers say it's safe to enter the cage and get acquainted.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2009, 09:30 AM
barstool719 barstool719 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 625
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
That would be a huge disappointment. PT8 is practically brand new. We can only hope it will be 8.1 or 8.2. And we can pray that it will be sub $100.
well.... not that i'm in with Digi or have any insider knowledge, but rather speaking from programming experience...

unless they started coding PT8 for 64 bit support from the get go, it's pretty much going to entail a pretty serious rewrite. it's not just "changing some flags" - it would be changing a lot of variable data types, as well as the functions that handle those variables to accomodate.

speaking from the same standpoint, i wouldnt be surprised to see 64bit support come along at the same time ADC does.

once again, all speculation.
__________________
i7-860 / 12GB Kingston / Intel DP55WB / 500GB Barracuda / 1TB Deskstar W7x64
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 9.0.3
Mics, Guitars, Amps, Basses, Drums, Keys


http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2009, 10:16 AM
mike1234 mike1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Would Pro Tools 7.4.2 work with Snow Leopard?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2009, 10:52 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
That would be a huge disappointment. PT8 is practically brand new. We can only hope it will be 8.1 or 8.2. And we can pray that it will be sub $100.
I have read multiple times on these forums, including posts by Digi, that the move to a full 64 bit program is not really going to do much for performance or anything else. The main benefit is adding the ability to address more than 4GB of RAM... But who here can say with confidence that their ProTools experience is being hampered by the 4GB limit?

Hate to burst your bubble, but at least you will be somewhat prepared for the dissapointment that will come later...

I would prefer Digi to concentrate on taking advantage of SL's supposed stability/performance gains and not waste too much time on the 64bit support..




Yet...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2009, 10:54 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1234 View Post
Would Pro Tools 7.4.2 work with Snow Leopard?

Thanks.
Oopss
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R

Last edited by flommer; 08-24-2009 at 01:38 PM. Reason: Didn't fully read the question
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:26 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
That would be a huge disappointment. PT8 is practically brand new. We can only hope it will be 8.1 or 8.2. And we can pray that it will be sub $100.
As digi said, and infos I have gathered, it really only a marketing thing today. Generally speaking audio apps does not benefit so much from this 64bit thing (not talking about audio).
Prepare yourself for the dissapointment. But what if it would be 64bit and you will realise that it's not that big deal? DISSAPOINTMENT!
Tamas Dragon
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.2 w/Snow Leopard 10.6.8 Cosme macOS 3 06-17-2012 11:52 AM
Pro Tools 7.3 and Snow Leopard kscollin Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-04-2010 11:11 AM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Snow Leopard & Leopard Avid Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-15-2009 07:11 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Snow Leopard & Leopard Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-15-2009 07:09 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Snow Leopard & Leopard Avid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-15-2009 07:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com