Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2010, 11:33 AM
docbop docbop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default Power requirements for UPS

We just had a power outage and made it clear we need UPS to protect our Venue system. I looked one manual and didn't see any wattage info. Can someone tell me or point me to where I can find info for sizing a UPS system for FOH board and rack and another of Stage rack.

Thanks.
__________________
Steve B.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:38 PM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Power requirements for UPS

My rigs always come with a Falcon 1kVA On-line UPS. I don't have the wattage draw info on the Venue, but anecdotally I can tell you running a Profile/Venue system with and Dolby Lake and a wordclcock on the Falcon I've got a good 20-30 minutes of battery backup.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2010, 11:02 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Power requirements for UPS

Hi Steve,

The power requirements for the various components (Stage Rack, FOH Rack, etc.) are published on their respective datasheets, which are found under the "more resources" section of the product pages (see here for a Profile system).

In general, a 1kVA or 1.5kVA UPS is sufficient for powering all the important bits.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-24-2010, 11:36 PM
rivetheadsound rivetheadsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 90
Default Re: Power requirements for UPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
Hi Steve,

The power requirements for the various components (Stage Rack, FOH Rack, etc.) are published on their respective datasheets, which are found under the "more resources" section of the product pages (see here for a Profile system).

In general, a 1kVA or 1.5kVA UPS is sufficient for powering all the important bits.

Sheldon
i have my SC48, digital snake head, mac-mini and macbook on my 750 tripplite and it runs perfect. its saved me several times as audience members have kicked powercords or other crew members overloading circuits. a MUST HAVE for digital boards.
__________________
Brian Lloyd
FOH Engineer - In The Mood LIVE
-Reality.exe corrupt. Reboot?-

Venue SC48
Macbook 13"
HP 2525TX Tablet
Motion Tablet LE1600
Mac Mini 2.6 dual core with 1TB 4gig Ram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:03 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Power requirements for UPS

I got a SmartUPS 1.5kVa on the console end and one on the stage running the critical components.
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2010, 10:17 AM
docbop docbop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default Re: Power requirements for UPS

Thanks all for the wattage requirements and gear suggestions.

Steve B.
__________________
Steve B.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surround panner power requirements JackW ICON & C|24 3 04-22-2010 02:01 PM
Live audio: Power requirements calculation: How? Amnesiac VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 01-23-2010 04:00 PM
C24 power requirements Studio Dweller ICON & C|24 1 03-30-2006 07:44 AM
PC requirements for PT HD Media Man Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 07-14-2005 10:32 PM
Unitor8 power requirements bcopenhagen MIDI 2 12-04-2004 08:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com