Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-29-2009, 11:15 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogeekzine View Post
And using more than 4GB of RAM?

And by "not one issue so far !" means no additional issues? Or zero issues total.
Why would you think PT will address more than 4GB?

That would be part of a 64bit rewrite for PT, and, obviously, that hasn't happened yet...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-29-2009, 02:14 PM
spinecraft spinecraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiogeekzine View Post
For those (like me) who recently purchased a Mac: http://www.apple.com/ca/macosx/uptodate/ Get Snow Leopard for $10US or $13CDN

I'll wait until its out and see if I can just pick it up in-store.
damn, that's great! i only got my macbook last month. saves me $19, thank you...
definitely taking the plunge now.

here's the correct link:
http://www.apple.com/macosx/uptodate/

(includes options for US customers as well)

edit: FREE SHIPPING!!!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-29-2009, 06:49 PM
Michael P. Michael P. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 61
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

So, has anyone gotten Core Audio to work with the original Mbox? Pro Tools works fine for me with 10.6, but I really miss being able to run iTunes through my Mbox.

edit: and lets add that while 7.4.2 worked fine and dandy last night, it's hanging (on peripherals) on start up now.
__________________
http://jessicascrime.com/
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-30-2009, 01:01 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 791
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

I'm running PT 8 on Snow Leopard 10.6 and it's all fine.

The only thing I noticed was that the Mbox1 is not picked up by core audio so you can't use an Mbox1 with iTunes. It works with Pro Tools however.

The Mbox2 is fine with the same applications as before.

Personally when I was on 10.5.6 everything was fine but due to some posts on the DUC saying 10.5.8 is better I went for that but had problems.

So when 10.6 arrived I was looking to iron out the 10.5.8 hiccups (crashes etc) and it has so I'm well pleased.

Saying that, I don't run a comercial studio and so I can take the 'risk'.

In conclusion:

On my set up Snow Leopard is working better than 10.5.8 and I'm happy!

The end
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-30-2009, 07:54 AM
boabyd23 boabyd23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 167
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

I just got sl yesterday to run on my 4 gb MacBook 320 hhd with Protools 8 .

Couple of noticable changes.

The amount of CPU usage I could set it too was 90%. After installing sl I can now up my CPU usage to 99% !!!!!!

With regards to getting 7gb back from instal I noticed I recieved 24 gigs back.

In all on first session start up there has been no glitches, crashes or hiccups and feel all in all this could be the best move for extra reliability yet.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-30-2009, 09:48 AM
quantise quantise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Headley Down, UK
Posts: 176
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

I just put SL on a separate partition on my Mac Pro to see if PT8 would work. The answer is yes and no. Basic recording and playback seems to work fine and there is indeed a new snappiness to the OS that makes PT feel lighter on its feet. The digi plugins seem to work fine as well but there is a rub.

Some of the AIR instruments are displaying graphics anomalies similar in nature to the issue that we had after Leopard was released where the colours are all psychedelic. The plugins that are displaying this behaviour on my system include Structure, Strike, Velvet and Hybrid.

In addition, some of these plugins refuse to unload after instantiation as does Omnisphere.

It looks to me as if the core functionality of PT8 is fine but as is often the case, a lot of the plugins will need an update.

John
__________________
PTHD 12.8.3 TB Native + Avid 8x8x8. Universal Audio Apollo 8p and Apollo 8 plus SF Apollo Quad used as outboard.
MacBook Pro 15-inch 2017. 4-Core 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7. OSX High Sierra 10.13.2
Avid S3 and Softube Console 1. Dynaudio BM5's.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-31-2009, 05:54 AM
brendanJacobs brendanJacobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Any news from Digi when Pro Tools 8 will be compatible with SL?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-31-2009, 07:54 AM
docbop docbop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 403
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by brendanJacobs View Post
Any news from Digi when Pro Tools 8 will be compatible with SL?
Digi probably won't say anything until they actually announce support or a update to add support.
__________________
Steve B.
----------------------------------------------------------------
If you think you can or if you think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-31-2009, 09:21 AM
brendanJacobs brendanJacobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by docbop View Post
Digi probably won't say anything until they actually announce support or a update to add support.
Thanks. I'm newish to the world of Digi. Not to DAWs. How long do Digi normally take to issues updates for Mac OS changes?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-31-2009, 11:05 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Snow Leopard and Pro Tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by brendanJacobs View Post
Thanks. I'm newish to the world of Digi. Not to DAWs. How long do Digi normally take to issues updates for Mac OS changes?
I'm not trying to be cute here but honestly, they will usually post within a week, a very vague statement about "we are working closely with Apple and to stay tuned." (you can find this on Digidesign's home page already). As for an actual code release that is tested and qualified for the OS change, that has taken anywhere from 1-6 months depending on the magnitude of the OS changes.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.2 running Protools 2019.12.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.2 w/Snow Leopard 10.6.8 Cosme macOS 3 06-17-2012 11:52 AM
Pro Tools 7.3 and Snow Leopard kscollin Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-04-2010 11:11 AM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Snow Leopard & Leopard Avid Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-15-2009 07:11 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Snow Leopard & Leopard Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-15-2009 07:09 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Updates for Snow Leopard & Leopard Avid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-15-2009 07:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com