Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2019, 03:34 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Bypassing Aux channel increases overall mix volume when bypassed

Hello! Not sure why this is happening. I’ve got a guitar track on it’s own channel. Then from that mono channel I’m bussing signal to a stereo Aux channel with a reverb on it. The buss level is set to “unity”. The reverb is panned 100% L & R and it’s level is set around 1/3rd of the way up.

Now for whatever reason, if I “bypass” the reverb plugin on it’s own Aux channel I lose the reverb completely but the guitar level goes up in level.

Why is this happening? Am I missing something here?

Thanks in advance!!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2019, 04:27 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: Bypassing Aux channel increases overall mix volume when bypassed

You are missing how reverb plugins work.
When you bypass the reverb plugin you are just sending double the dry signal out since it is no longer being processed.

Which obviously will be louder.

If the reverb plugin is on its own aux, do the common sense thing and just mute the aux out.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2019, 04:37 PM
Armando Armando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Parrish, FL USA
Posts: 931
Default Re: Bypassing Aux channel increases overall mix volume when bypassed

Thanks! Having a brain fart! Actually I thought it also happened when muting the track but I probably over looked that. Thanks again!
__________________
Armando
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 is bypassing monitor knob at full volume on one channel only ductape22 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 2 01-09-2015 07:42 AM
Sample rate conversion & consolidate increases volume?? D'Animation Post - Surround - Video 1 02-28-2012 07:39 AM
Channel volume problem getinnocuous 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-05-2010 02:32 PM
Lovering volume on track channel? Sevdah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-18-2009 12:02 AM
Can I Group a Channel Volume with an Aux Send Volume? acacia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 08-10-2007 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com