Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2019, 09:24 PM
Jakeman Jakeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 250
Default HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

I just downloaded the update for ProTools First v2019.5
I would now like to get my Mackie Control Universal to connect but don't see where to do that in PT First. And yes I know v2018 didn't have the ability for control surfaces, but version 2019.5 should according the the Avid comparison page. What am I doing wrong or did Avid make a mistake in the online documentation?

Here is a screen shot of the comparison of each ProTools versions.
http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1559708265
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-06-04 at 10.06.50 PM.jpg (48.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2019, 04:29 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

If it's available in that version it would be under Setup --> Peripherals --> MIDI Controllers. You'd need to have the MCU set for HUI mode if available. Not familiar enough with the MCU to know if that's possible.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2019, 07:45 AM
Jakeman Jakeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 250
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
If it's available in that version it would be under Setup --> Peripherals --> MIDI Controllers. You'd need to have the MCU set for HUI mode if available. Not familiar enough with the MCU to know if that's possible.
There is no Peripherals under Setup, that's the first place I looked.
I've had my MCU setup for years on my older PT 8 HD rig. The MCU has been loosing connection there so thought I'd see if it would work on PT First now that HUI-Compatible Control Surface is now showing as supported.

Thanks for the help though.

Jd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2019, 12:38 AM
RecordingStudio9 RecordingStudio9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

I'm sure, like many options missing in the PTF, web site is not updated or someone put the detail on the web without checking, as previously HUI is not supported.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2019, 04:46 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

Hang tight, I'm trying to get an official answer on this.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2019, 12:07 AM
Jakeman Jakeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 250
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
Hang tight, I'm trying to get an official answer on this.
Thanks!!!

Jd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2019, 04:56 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,622
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakeman View Post
Thanks!!!

Jd
Hi Jakeman, sorry, HUI and Eucon are not supported on Pro Tools First. Peripherals are not available on this free DAW. I've forwarded the concern to the team to correct the info on the website.

Thanks,
Tope
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2019, 09:55 PM
Jakeman Jakeman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 250
Default Re: HUI Control Surface and PT First 2019.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hi Jakeman, sorry, HUI and Eucon are not supported on Pro Tools First. Peripherals are not available on this free DAW. I've forwarded the concern to the team to correct the info on the website.

Thanks,
Tope
Thanks for the inquiry. I thought it was to got to be true, and thus it was.

Jd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 PT Control app Monitoring Page paulo m Pro Tools 2019 0 05-09-2019 05:40 PM
003 control surface (As audio) & control 24 as surface crizdee ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 01-04-2016 12:30 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com