Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2009, 12:25 PM
Monty_python Monty_python is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 155
Default Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

WIN XP SP3 PT8

Hello, I've been dealing with this issue for a long time, it's not a consistent problem either and it doesn't matter if I have a large or small session to provoke it.

When I simply hit Play (or F12 to record), the green Play Button lights up but so does the Blue Stop button and the session will not play. To get around this I simply hit Play (spacebar) two more times, once to stop the current play command (which actually isn't playing, it seems to be in idle with both green and blue lights still lit), and again to actually get the session to play. It usually actually plays (or records) after I do this, some times I need to repeat the procedure a few times to get it going.

The computer doesn't crash and PT rarely freezes. I get around this pretty quickly, clients don't even notice because I do it so quickly. Is there a setting that is making this happen, a bug or bad work flow?

Thanks for your time!
-Monty
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:23 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Lots of threads on this already. Supposedly fixed in 8.0.1. Make an Acronis Image and then update to 8.0.1 and try it out.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2009, 01:39 PM
Monty_python Monty_python is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 155
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Thanks for the reply, sorry for the poor search skills. I'll wait until my important sessions are out of the way before upgrading in case something goes wrong.

Thanks you!
-Monty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2009, 04:07 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monty_python View Post
Thanks for the reply, sorry for the poor search skills. I'll wait until my important sessions are out of the way before upgrading in case something goes wrong.

Thanks you!
-Monty
This is the reason for the image. You should do this regardless of the status of your sessions.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2009, 04:21 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Tom,

It's amazing to me how people resist making an image or even contemplating the process. A producer friend of mine spent many, many months rolling his eyes at me every time I mentioned Acronis. He finally tried it and then asked me why he hadn't done it before as it saved his a**.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2009, 07:30 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

To add to that Bruce, I'd like to know why the OP wouldn't update to the fix of the problem when he's having the problem now but would rather stick with the problem Somebody tap me on my shoulder & tell me to be quiet
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2009, 08:12 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Stop confounding the OP with that dad burn Hillbilly logic.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2009, 08:15 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMS40 View Post
Stop confounding the OP with that dad burn Hillbilly logic.
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2009, 02:35 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,926
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
This is the reason for the image. You should do this regardless of the status of your sessions.
Just sayin'
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2009, 10:56 AM
Monty_python Monty_python is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 155
Default Re: Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay

I actually never made an image of my disk before. I only back up data on my HDs, not programs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 04-02-2018 09:02 AM
I push PLAY and Stop Button lights up Blue ??? Seafoam_Green Getting Started 3 07-06-2013 09:18 AM
Press PLAY and STOP button lights! ronlosangeles Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-29-2011 10:19 AM
Delay When Record/Play Button Pressed kaoticjackal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-25-2009 01:42 PM
ProTools "stop" button lights up when I hit "play" andy knowles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-20-2005 12:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com