Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2019, 03:46 PM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
Default Implied Mute (Blinking Mutes when Soloed)

I really enjoyed the function of implied mute with HUI on the SSL Duality with Pro Tools. On the S6 when I solo a track other tracks that are muted as a result of that solo do not blink indicating an implied mute. Is there a way to add this feature to the S6?

Though I make it a habit to not automate mute and do it with clips instead to avoid this blinking mutes are certainly a boon when I am soloing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2019, 07:01 AM
info@npp.co.uk info@npp.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Implied Mute (Blinking Mutes when Soloed)

This also applies to VCAs. On my old D-Control when I muted a VCA the associated fader mutes would flash, indicating that they were only muted due to their VCA being muted. This was very handy and unfortunately isn't the case on the S6. When I mute a VCA on the S6 all the associated fader mutes are solid so I have no way of knowing whether the individual faders are muted or not. Not a step forward........
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2019, 08:38 AM
skilletaudio skilletaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Implied Mute (Blinking Mutes when Soloed)

I think all of the controllers have had this except the S6, D-Command, Pro Control, Control 24 (I never used the C-24 but would be surprised if did didn't have implied mute). Glad to see someone else misses this feature too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2019, 09:28 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 715
Default Re: Implied Mute (Blinking Mutes when Soloed)

Both D-Control and D-Command did have this functionality I believe. I agree completely that it is quite important and should be added to S4/S6. I'll defer to Eddie to confirm it is on the list of items for improvement.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2019, 11:09 AM
Serge Perron Serge Perron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 141
Default Re: Implied Mute (Blinking Mutes when Soloed)

I am always in solo mode while mixing in formats other than Atmos. I switch between monitoring PM, Stems and reference tracks by using XOR solo rather than muting / unmuting tracks. My mix source tracks and auxes are in solo safe mode. Some may find blinking implied mutes distracting regardless of how they use solo mode. I request that blinking mutes be optional if implemented.


Serge
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Send mute/solo follows track mute/solo pre-fader Roger_Jam_Jet Windows 3 09-24-2017 01:59 PM
Speaker mute,unmute, record track mute,unmute for ADR garret Post - Surround - Video 7 09-04-2015 01:03 PM
Mute Region or Mute Automation Jeremy Mix3000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-22-2007 07:53 PM
mute doesn't mute? kmshroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-22-2004 08:03 PM
Mute DAMN IT! MUTE!!! hookiefree 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-22-2003 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com