Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2009, 11:27 PM
lollipophugo lollipophugo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Okay so I have Pro Tools 8 LE with my brand spanking fresh out of the box mbox mini 2 and it is all installed on a hp pavilion dv4000. It has a 1.86 GHz pentium M processor, 2 GB ram (I had to upgrade before I could even install) radeon x700 graphics card. I'm running Windows XP and SP 2; I've looked pretty much everywhere (read: first 5 pages of about 5 google searches) for a similar error and could not find it.

Basically it started when I tried importing an audio file via the workspace. I got to the directory of my dvd (it was a data module) where I had Vai's Naked Tracks. As soon as I hovered my mouse over the .mp3 file the program crashed. As in, completely closed, no message, it took all of half a second. I thought that was weird so I restarted, tried again. Same deal. I copied the folder to my hard drive and unchecked the read only component then tried again. Same problem. I tried a random song off a different album - same problem.

I then tried directly dragging and dropping from explorer to the session - same problem. Straight crash, without even a second to collect my thoughts. As soon as the dragged file even hovered over the pro tools window it crashed without waiting for me to drop it. So then I tried the import menu option - same problem. As soon as I hover my mouse over the mp3, it crashes.

This is really quite frustrating because not only did I fork out a fair bit of cash for the hard/software, but I just spent $200 upgrading my laptop's RAM specifically so this application could function. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2009, 01:32 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

We're going to need a bit more info to be able to help you troubleshoot - the Help Us Help You thread has details about what we need to know.

You may also want to visit the General Troubleshooting thread (below my signature), as it has many suggestions for optimizations that may fix your problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2009, 03:14 PM
lollipophugo lollipophugo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

So now, to test if it really has an error or not, I have to go fork out for a firewire external hard drive _as well_ (after already purchasing 2x 1GB sticks of RAM) and then possibly find out that it still doesn't work anyway.... I think I am allowed to be pretty annoyed, you don't find out any of this on the box or on their main site. Info like this should be packaged with the product so people have some idea whether or not the software is going to actually work on their machine.

Here's a sandra report. All other information is as I've given it to you; I installed and began working with the program yesterday. I've done everything but purchase an external hard drive.

==================================================

System
Model : Hewlett-Packard Pavilion dv4000 (EL107PA#ABG)
Workgroup : MSHOME
Host Name : Nate
User : Nate Young

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.86GHz
Speed : 1.86GHz
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile
Integrated Data Cache : 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Back, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

System
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Hewlett-Packard 309E
BIOS : Phoenix F.03 (07/28/2005)
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB PCMCIA CardBus USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : HP 82915PM/GM/GMS, 82910GML Host Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 133MHz (532MHz)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 266MHz (532MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905293-014A00LF 1GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-4300U DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)
Memory Module : Kingston 9905293-014A00LF 1GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-4300U DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)

Video System
Adapter : ATI MOBILITY RADEON X700 (8 PS2.0, 6 VS2.0, 128MB Integrated Graphics)

Storage Devices
TOSHIBA MK8025GAS (80GB, ATA100, 2.5", 4200rpm) : 75GB (C:)
iriver MP3 E10 6.1GB (USB) : 6GB (F:)
TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-L532M (ATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 8GB (D:)
Generic DVD-ROM (SCSI, SCSI-2, DVD+-R, CD-R, 512kB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 75GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK8025GAS (80GB, ATA100, 2.5", 4200rpm)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 8GB (CDFS) @ TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-L532M (ATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ Generic DVD-ROM (SCSI, SCSI-2, DVD+-R, CD-R, 512kB Cache)
Removable Drive (F:) : 6GB (FAT32) @ iriver MP3 E10 6.1GB (USB)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : HP 82801FBM (ICH6M) LPC Interface Bridge
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T0 EC-11h
Audio Device : HP 82801FB (ICH6) AC'97 Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Analog Devices 0074h
Audio Codec : 494Ch 0027h
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : HP 82801FB (ICH6) Ultra ATA Storage Controller
USB Controller 1 : HP 82801FB (ICH6) USB UHCI Controller 1
USB Controller 2 : HP 82801FB (ICH6) USB UHCI Controller 2
USB Controller 3 : HP 82801FB (ICH6) USB UHCI Controller 3
USB Controller 4 : HP 82801FB (ICH6) USB UHCI Controller 4
USB Controller 5 : HP 82801FB (ICH6) USB 2.0 EHCI Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : HP OHCI Compliant IEEE-1394 FireWire Controller
CardBus/PCMCIA Controller 1 : TI PCIxx21/x515 Cardbus Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : CSD Writer for iriver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Canon MF3110 (600x600, USB)

Scanners and Cameras
Camcorder : Logitech QuickCam Pro 9000 (USB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC - Packet Scheduler Miniport
Network Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 48Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)
Platform Compliance : x86

==================================================

I'm afraid I have no more information to offer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2009, 03:53 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Quote:
I think I am allowed to be pretty annoyed, you don't find out any of this on the box
The compatibility information on the box states that you should check our website for the most current information and which has specifics about requirements, such as a dedicated audio drive, for proper Pro Tools operation.

Have you tried any of the other suggestions from the General Troubleshooting thread yet?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2009, 04:32 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Quote:
Originally Posted by lollipophugo View Post

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 75GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK8025GAS (80GB, ATA100, 2.5", 4200rpm) <=== speed of drive is a problem IMO...super slow
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 8GB (CDFS) @ TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-L532M (ATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ Generic DVD-ROM (SCSI, SCSI-2, DVD+-R, CD-R, 512kB Cache)
Removable Drive (F:) : 6GB (FAT32) @ iriver MP3 E10 6.1GB (USB)
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2009, 04:52 PM
lollipophugo lollipophugo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
The compatibility information on the box states that you should check our website for the most current information and which has specifics about requirements, such as a dedicated audio drive, for proper Pro Tools operation.
Well, actually what it says verbatim is "Digidesign is constantly working to support the latest computer configurations. For the most up-to-date system requirements, compatibility information, and online support, please visit www.digidesign.com/support/mbox2mini." It doesn't say "you should check x for proper pro tools operation", nor does it stipulate that you will _require_ an external hard drive in order to prevent the application from crashing constantly. In any case bickering over the fact that I purchased an application which is proving to be inoperable on my system isn't going to help me get it working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Have you tried any of the other suggestions from the General Troubleshooting thread yet?
I've tried everything (including completely removing the application and all related drivers from my system then reinstalling) applicable on that list short of getting an external hard drive.

Quote:
Hard Disk (C:) : 75GB (NTFS) @ TOSHIBA MK8025GAS (80GB, ATA100, 2.5", 4200rpm) <=== speed of drive is a problem IMO...super slow
That might prove to be a problem later, sure; but how could that possibly cause the application to crash upon importing an mp3 from a dvd? There is no ripping involved at all, and as far as I can see it's not even attempting a copy or load operation of any kind (it crashes as soon as I click on the mp3 file in the import dialogue, and as soon as I expand the containing folder on the workspace). I'd be extremely surprised if such a problem was linked to not using an external hard drive or having a slow system drive (surely all that would affect would be the speed of saving/loading and maybe SPEED of input, I have more than enough RAM now to make the facilitation of virtual memory unnecessary; especially when you're talking about merely importing audio data and perhaps the conversion of said data to raw data from mp3 compression (although there's no way it's reaching that stage) ..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2009, 05:49 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Probably not what you want to hear...
After having run Pro Tools for many years I can tell you that if you are serious about recording and wish to use this application and hardware you should idealy have a dedicated Pro Tools computer. At least 2 fast (7200 RPM) drives. No Internet connection, no conflicting software, no RIAD, a qualified firewire controller, no unnecessary USB devices, A low memory video card, a fast Intel CPU (preferably a Quad) with an Intel chipset, and a tweaked OS, preferably XP 32bit. Some do get away with variations on the theme when they get lucky. Good luck to you.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-07-2009, 03:27 AM
timebandit timebandit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 167
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

what version of Quicktime do you have installed? Get the newest and see if you have the same problem.

Worth a shot...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2009, 04:58 PM
lollipophugo lollipophugo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Quote:
Originally Posted by timebandit View Post
what version of Quicktime do you have installed? Get the newest and see if you have the same problem.

Worth a shot...
I tried that pretty much as soon as I found out that quicktime was used for ripping (with no success).

Sorry I should have posted that. Any other ideas? Getting another computer isn't an option for me; I guess at least if I get an external hard drive and it doesn't work I can probably find uses for it but really I don't want to buy it if I don't have to, especially if there is uncertainty as to whether that is actually the problem or not.

I'll buy one this afternoon and let you guys know if it solves the problems I am having.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2009, 04:55 AM
audiogama audiogama is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Audio import crashing with no error or warning

Im having the exact same problem! And I have 2 hard drives of 7200rpm!!! PT8... too many bugs!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT CRASHING in 'Import Audio' Window andyv Pro Tools 9 2 01-05-2011 07:15 PM
Crashing on Import Audio - why?? edfreeze 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 09-22-2010 04:56 PM
Import Audio Error ronstephens 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-29-2008 04:31 PM
Import Audio Error thornlab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-10-2004 11:20 AM
Can´t import..(MP3Ssc) warning: Decoder - sync eof Jorge442 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-04-2004 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com