Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2019, 08:46 AM
Peter Baird's Avatar
Peter Baird Peter Baird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stevenson Ranch, CA
Posts: 253
Default Fun fact.

I wanted to play around with a pair of oscillators, so I started a new session, made 2 new tracks, and inserted the Tone Generator on each. I hear enough 1K in the course of my life, so I pulled the frequency in each genny down to 200Hz. With both channels panned hard left and one channel open, my left output VU meter (as expected) settled at 0dB. But when both channels were open, the output dropped to below -8dB. Just for grins I inserted the 1-band EQ on one of the channels and flipped the phase. Sure enough the output jumped to pin the meter.

Thinking this to be somewhat odd, I looked at both gennys to see if I had done something stupid. Nope, everything was exactly the same. So I started changing the waveform on one of them randomly, and behold, every time I changed the waveform a different phase result happened. It took me a while to realize that each time I changed the waveform the oscillator instantly restarted, and that restart could happen at any point of the sinusoidal wave coming from the other genny.

So of course the next question was, if I instantiate both gennys simultaneously will they be in phase? And yes, they were.

Which is a long ways to say that if you start two oscillators going at different times, even if they are the same frequency, you will get random phase results. Duh.

As you were.

(Alas, I was mistaken. Changing the waveform does not actually seem to re-start the genny. The differences when swapping waveforms seem to be due to the different harmonic makeup of each waveform. The only way to re-start the genny seems to be re-instantiating the plug.)



Peter
__________________
Gypsy: PT Ultimate 2019.5, 12-core Mac Pro 3.46Ghz 64GB OS 10.14.5, HD Native, HD OMNI, 2 Artist Mix, EUCON 18.3, Presonus 32R, Studio One 4.5.1, Quad Eight preamps, Neve 3201 EQs, 2 LA-4s, Malone Design Works desk

Laptop: 10.13.6 MacBook Pro 2.8 Core i7, 16G, PT 19.5 Live 9

www.remotewest.com
@RemoteWest

Last edited by Peter Baird; 03-11-2019 at 09:02 AM. Reason: Mistake!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2019, 09:06 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 221
Default Re: Fun fact.

I used to run genny's across all tracks to do calibration and stuff until I also realised that they were outputting their sine's at different times.

Amazing what you find once you start digging.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2019, 12:25 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,694
Default Re: Fun fact.

use one Genny, and Bus it to all the other tracks you want to Calibrate !! maybe .. if just aligning desk / PT to record machines

too bad there is not a MASTER genny, but that Would change the flexibility of having different tones on different tracks for easy ident in the heat of the moment ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2019, 04:16 AM
clancychris clancychris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 77
Default Re: Fun fact.

For calibration I always print signal generators for this reason. I thought I was going mad trying to balance everything up on a mixer until I realised they weren't synchronised.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2019, 10:55 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 230
Default Re: Fun fact.

I have an even funnier application for the signal generator: try to make a sweep by automating the frequency. Interesting results await you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rumour or Fact Henchman Post - Surround - Video 36 05-02-2010 01:52 PM
Access to Summary after the fact hear it 22 Aspera DigiDelivery 3 12-04-2007 09:15 AM
curious xp fact fieldtheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-02-2002 12:07 AM
In fact, Whats new in PT/NT 5.0.1? Echo studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 06-20-2000 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com