Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2018, 10:34 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Yesterday I ordered my split air con system as it gets way to hot in the control room now a days and I will be installing it next week. I’m wondering where is the best place to have the indoor unit?. In front of me so it blows into my face. The rear wall so blowing on to the back of my head when mixing or on one of the side walls blowing across the studio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2018, 10:59 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Is there a distance difference between in front or behind you? Personally, I would want it further away(so it wasn't blasting my head). In either case, if it would be blowing right at me, I would probably hang a baffle to deflect the air(it should still do fine cooling the room)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2018, 11:02 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Air Con in the studio, advice please.

In front there is no distance, behind me is the furthest distance I’d say probably about 8 - 10 foot from my head


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2018, 11:56 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,054
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Furthest from your entry doorway
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2018, 01:25 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

So above mixing desk in front of me then. I just thinking I don’t want to be mixing in a Gail force wind though, but I need to keep the studio cool


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2018, 02:48 PM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 340
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Depending upon the brand I think but my mini split has a quiet mode for the fan, and a body heat sensor. The sensor can tell if someone is in the space and direct heating or cooling accordingly.

It also has a timer so I can kick it up before I use the space to heat/cool it then it kicks down to quiet mode.

The air flow is constantly changing direction also. The vanes move in customizable patterns so it never blows on me.

Quiet mode is quiet but not silent. Mine is a Mitsubishi BTW.
__________________
Squaw Creek Road Studio
Bob
Pro Tools Standard (current version)| Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
|
3.6GHz 8-core 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac w/40GB RAM | 1TB SSD | macOS Mojave |

Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2018, 03:20 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

If you keep the door closed while working, then it won't matter
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2018, 05:18 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Yes the door will be closed most of the time. The one I’ve ordered is this model, has lots of good features

https://www.cooleasy.co.uk/categorie...ed-system.html


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2018, 11:20 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,198
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Bob View Post
Quiet mode is quiet but not silent. Mine is a Mitsubishi BTW.

I have a Mitsubishi minisplit in my studio which is actually a bonus room over the garage. It has central heat and air, but got too hot in the summer. Anyway, the thing is super quiet and cool!
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2018, 04:46 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,520
Default Re: Air Con in the studio, advice please.

Just don't put the in-room unit where it blows directly on the back of your neck or on the side and blowing right into one of your ears. Why the back of the neck warning? Simple - too cold for too long and you'll eventually have some neck pain (happened to me). As to the ear deal - one of my ears got messed up so bad I had to go to the doctor. An anti-inflammatory & antibiotic helped take care of that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio Furniture ADVICE nehemiahmh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-06-2005 08:13 PM
Any advice for a studio about to upgrade to HD and Audiodude General Discussion 0 07-22-2004 09:37 AM
advice on my new studio configuration juanpablo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-13-2004 09:47 AM
Advice on Building a studio The_Jester 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-25-2002 02:22 PM
Need Studio Constructing Advice peneslapepe General Discussion 2 04-26-2002 07:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com