Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 02-24-2020, 06:58 AM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 97
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Agree, this needs fixed now. 5K of controller sitting in front of me for the past two months and I'm still using a mouse for automation. Even fine static adjustments are impossible on the S1.

While we're at it, can we please fix whatever is going on with the double press of the SEL button on S1 for VCA spill? This has caused equal frustration for me. I have to try 5-6 times sometimes before it actually works.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-24-2020, 12:10 PM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Frustration here also... $7000 and the initial version, although not bug free, was in many ways better than the update. I feel 100% crippled in workflow right now. Ugh. I’m a pretty patient and glass half full guy, but optimism and excitement are waning.

At the same time... Eddie... thanks to you and the team for what you’re doing! I know getting this right matters to you as much as it does to us!!
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2019.12/2018 Mac Mini 3.2ghz 6-core i7/32GB RAM/Aja T-Tap/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe in Sonnet chassis/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-24-2020, 06:12 PM
QuacksMeUp QuacksMeUp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 26
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Quote:
Originally Posted by robingshore View Post
After about a minute it would stop acknowledging the touch and I could feel the fader's motor fighting against me. I.
Same here... fader fight.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-27-2020, 04:55 AM
Clemens Becker Clemens Becker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Unfortuntely no information by my Avid Support case, no info by my Reseller SMM, no info by Eddie. Does anybody know anything? Last info I got by my reseller 2 weeks ago was, that they think all S1 have probably be send back to Avid. i think if it would "just" be a firmware issue, Avid could tell a date, or?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-27-2020, 05:27 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 142
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Yes, it's about time to tell us, if there is a software fix or a hardware fix!

AVID, you have to stop promising, just act!


Cheers
Maik
__________________
PT HDN 2019.10, OMNI, SYNC HD, Dock, 2xS1, PT Control, MacPro 5,1 12core 48GB, OSX 10.14.5, BM Decklink Extreme 3D
------------
mars13.de
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-01-2020, 02:59 PM
Samnavi Samnavi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Madrid
Posts: 1
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Another user from Spain.....3 s1 and one Dock....50sec and out.....incredible from Avid.
One solution!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 03-01-2020, 09:45 PM
Barranca Barranca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Camarillo
Posts: 19
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

I joined this forum to learn and get technical support for my two New S1s that will be arriving next week.

I was excited but now I'm worried.

There seem to be a lot of frustrated S1 users in this thread.
Is there any work around for any of this? For the 50 sec fader issue, can I let go of the fader at 49 seconds then re grab the fader at 51 and continue :) ? As in touch automation, if I am doing a final mix pass and just want to boost an effect send in certain parts, ie not continuously 'holding' the fader for 50 seconds, but letting a 5min song play w/o stopping.

Seriously, am I missing other known problems that hinder use? , is this 50sec thing the only MAIN issue ? I see people commenting they have 16 useless faders?

Arrgghh....was going to make a short post,

Maybe I should cancel my order.....
__________________
iMac OSX 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.12
Avid Control 20.1.0.8
iPad 6th Gen ios 12.4.1
2-Artist Mix soon to be 2-S1's
Logic Pro X

Last edited by Barranca; 03-01-2020 at 10:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 03-02-2020, 12:21 AM
Clemens Becker Clemens Becker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 20
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Hi Barranca,
for me the 50s (depending on the system between 47 and 55s) issue is the main problem. that means, if you have your fingers on the fader for longer than that time the automation stops writing after 50s, after a break of about 5-10 seconds it may continue but i don`t know exactly. if you drop the fader after 45s just for 1s than you can continue writing for another 49s or so. the problem only occurs when you do not drop the fader.
if your order still is not shipped, perhaps you are lucky and the issue is already solved.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 03-02-2020, 03:57 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 653
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

I think we need an update on what the prognosis is for a fix on the S1 50s fader thing.
Mine has gone back in its box and been replaced by my old Euphonix Mix.
At least the faders work on that one and fortunately I hadn't sold it yet.

At the moment the S1 is an expensive paperweight.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 03-02-2020, 03:31 PM
Barranca Barranca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Camarillo
Posts: 19
Default Re: fader automation stops during pass

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemens Becker View Post
Hi Barranca,
for me the 50s (depending on the system between 47 and 55s) issue is the main problem. that means, if you have your fingers on the fader for longer than that time the automation stops writing after 50s, after a break of about 5-10 seconds it may continue but i don`t know exactly. if you drop the fader after 45s just for 1s than you can continue writing for another 49s or so. the problem only occurs when you do not drop the fader.
if your order still is not shipped, perhaps you are lucky and the issue is already solved.
Thanks. But I would assume that this is a software/firmware issue, not a hardware one?

But you know what they say about the word "assume"......
__________________
iMac OSX 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.12
Avid Control 20.1.0.8
iPad 6th Gen ios 12.4.1
2-Artist Mix soon to be 2-S1's
Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AUTOMATION TO DENSE then stops..... I have no automation Weird Audio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-07-2012 05:50 AM
Low/High Pass Filter Automation Help Funkle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-08-2010 09:23 AM
automation problems. the first pass doesn't stick londonsoundbloke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-03-2007 05:14 AM
automation problems. the first pass doesn't stick londonsoundbloke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-03-2007 08:21 AM
HOWTO, audio file automation during record pass JFreak Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-15-2007 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com