Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2013, 02:39 AM
Jester10 Jester10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Default 2 minute delay to start recording.....

Hi all, hopefully someone has seen this problem before......

I'm using PT 8 LE, ver 8.0.4 and an M-Box mini on a MAC. I initially installed PT when there was Leopard and everything was fine.

I wanted to upgrade my OS (not knowing there was issue with running PT8 and mountain lion) and did so by upgrading to Snow Leopard first and then Mountain Lion.

I started up PT as normal and there was no issue until I went to record some audio. I press Record (it flashes as normal) but when I hit the spacebar or the play button the multicoloured spinning MAC wheel (?) appears and PT is frozen for about 2 minutes and then it will just start recording as normal.

There is no issue with playback at all.

So I downloaded the 8.0.5 upgrade so PT is compatible with Mountain Lion but still the same problem remains.
I've uninstalled PT and re-installed and still have the same problem.

Apart from going back to Snow Leopard (thus wiping the disk etc..) is there any other quick fix for this issue??

Thanks to anyone who can help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2013, 04:51 AM
timeey timeey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 95
Default Re: 2 minute delay to start recording.....

What´s your system specs?

Try setting your buffer-size to a higher samplerate and setting your host processors to 1 below your maximum in the playback engine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2013, 07:01 AM
JazzyJ JazzyJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 791
Default Re: 2 minute delay to start recording.....

Quote:
So I downloaded the 8.0.5 upgrade so PT is compatible with Mountain Lion
Quote:
Compatibility Summary

Pro Tools 8.0.5 supports the same Pro Tools core systems as version 8.0.3 and 8.0.4, with the following operating systems:

Mac OS X 10.6.1 – 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Mac OS X 10.5.8 (Leopard)
Windows XP Service Pack 3 (Home or Professional, 32-bit)
Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (32-bit)
Windows 7 (32 and 64-bit)
1) If you want 'compatible' you need PT10

or

2) If you want 'compatible' with PT8 you need 10.6.8 at the maximum OSX.

or

3) Accept that you'll have errors and problems using PT8 on an unsupported OSX (OSX10.8)


3 options - pick one.
__________________
Hack Pro (4.2Ghz i7 Quad/16GB)
PT11 / OSX 10.8.5
TC Electronic Konnekt 24D

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2013, 02:54 AM
Jester10 Jester10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2 minute delay to start recording.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by timeey View Post
What´s your system specs?

Try setting your buffer-size to a higher samplerate and setting your host processors to 1 below your maximum in the playback engine.
Gave that a go but it made no difference, thanks anyway....

System specs are OSX 10.7.5, 2.4Ghz processor and 4GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2013, 02:56 AM
Jester10 Jester10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2 minute delay to start recording.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzyJ View Post
1) If you want 'compatible' you need PT10

or

2) If you want 'compatible' with PT8 you need 10.6.8 at the maximum OSX.

or

3) Accept that you'll have errors and problems using PT8 on an unsupported OSX (OSX10.8)


3 options - pick one.

Ah I see, I mistakenly thought the 8.0.5 update was to deal with Mountain Lion. Looks like it back to OSX 10.6.3 for me, cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2013, 03:41 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: 2 minute delay to start recording.....

This is normally the recording allocation preference. Change it from open ended to something like 60 minutes or whatever is in excess of the max you will need.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2013, 03:14 AM
Jester10 Jester10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2 minute delay to start recording.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
This is normally the recording allocation preference. Change it from open ended to something like 60 minutes or whatever is in excess of the max you will need.
YES! That was the problem.....the open ended recording allocation was set to use all available space, changed it to 15 minutes. Phew thank God for that! Many thanks to you sir
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One minute I have space, the next minute I don't newtonab Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 01-03-2009 05:38 PM
Oral History - 3 minute tracks (markers) on 65 min recording Percustard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-24-2002 08:22 PM
5 minute song 540 MB disk space- more economic way of recording? Zombo Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 05-21-2002 12:57 AM
Pro Tools Start Delay MARVINBASS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 04-22-2002 07:53 PM
Recording start delay Piotr Rubik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-11-2000 03:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com